Switch Theme:

Template weapons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Stoke-on-Trent

I've looked around on dakka and other places and am a little confused so hope it's not a problem me asking again.


1. Can say a flamer kill models in a unit if it can't see them?


2. Can a blast scatter further than its maximum range and also kill model out of line of sight?

Cheers

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/06 08:38:50


 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






1) No. Templates follow all the normal rules for wound allocation.

2) Yes, as stated in the rules for Blasts:
Note that it is possible, and absolutely fine, for a shot to scatter beyond the weapon’s maximum or minimum range and line of sight. This represents the chance of ricochets, the missile blasting through cover and other random events. In these cases, hits are worked out as normal and can hit and wound units out of range and line of sight
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




However, note that the blast rules do NOT exempt you from "out of sight" emptying the Wound Pool is NO models inthe target unit can be seen by ANY model in the shooting unit

ALL it overrides is the normal "closest model in LOS" rule to replace it with "closest model"
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Stoke-on-Trent

Thanks Quanar.

So a flamer can only target a unit if it can see a model, and only wound models it can see.

So the template covers 5 , can only see 3 via line of sight. It still causes 5 wounds, but can only kill 3?

 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






 stokecity_m wrote:
So a flamer can only target a unit if it can see a model, and only wound models it can see.

So the template covers 5 , can only see 3 via line of sight. It still causes 5 wounds, but can only kill 3?
Correct, nothing about counting the models under the Template requires LoS. Note that I'm fairly sure Template weapons could wound out of LoS in previous editions, which may be what is causing the confusion.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Stoke-on-Trent

Thanks

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: