Switch Theme:

C'tan Night bringer's Gase of death  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Horrific Howling Banshee




Can the gase of death be used if the C'tan is in close combat?, if yes can it also target flying monstrous creatures and be used after running?

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes to all. It is not shooting, it just occurs during that phase.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Howling Banshee




The book needs an FAQ pronto, this is clearly a shooting attack that dosnt roll to hit (no snap firing) but is in addition to the 2 powers he can already fire, would it not specify otherwise if this wasn't the case.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It is not a shooting attack. It shares as much with a shooting attack as running.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Minneapolis, MN

nosferatu1001 wrote:
It shares as much with a shooting attack as running.

It shares quite a bit more with a shooting attack than it does with running.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Howling Banshee




its incredibly similar to psychic shriek
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Can it be used to fire on a different enemy unit to the one you shoot with the c'tan regular shooting attack?
Can it be used in close combat, during the shooting phase, potentially ending a close combat (due to no models being in base contact anymore)?
Can a C'tan then charge the unit again during the assault phase for a +1?

Answer: I don't use this unit at the moment, because it's borked. Just like the C'tan formation of the burning one, which is also impossible to use.

Can you have a rambo action c'tan with T8, beebop and rocksteady crypteks next to him?
Answer: Turtle POWER!
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





From everything I've understood so far, it just happens in the shooting phase and is not a shooting attack. As such, yes, it seems like it can target fliers and enemies in close combat. If you kill the models in close combat, then your models that are left will no longer be locked in close combat and will be able to declare a charge during the assault phase.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Howling Banshee




if it could do any of these things its would say so, its not up to me to prove that it cant its up to you to prove to me that it can and so far no ones done that
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Hettar wrote:
if it could do any of these things its would say so, its not up to me to prove that it cant its up to you to prove to me that it can and so far no ones done that


Point to the rule that defines Gaze of Death as a shooting attack. If you cannot, then why are you insisting on treating it as one?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Hettar wrote:
if it could do any of these things its would say so, its not up to me to prove that it cant its up to you to prove to me that it can and so far no ones done that

The gaze of death rules grant the permission. Show denial of this permission, or concede he point.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Howling Banshee




where does it say you can target units in close combat? where does it say it can snap fire? where does it say you can do this in addition to running?, where does it say you can do this in close combat? see how i turned this circular argument around?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Sigh

Where does it say that those things are important?

I have permission to use it on an enemy within 12". Find ANY RESTRICTIONS on that enemy units "status". If you fail to do so, your argument is disproven. Second time of asking

Permission to use it, in general, is shown. That's all that is needed, rules wise.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Howling Banshee




No i sigh you sir first.......[MOD EDIT - RULE #1 - Alpharius]

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/14 20:05:22


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Lol. You're clearly annoyed at this power. Your failure to follow the tenets is noted.
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





It's never listed as a shooting attack Hettar. Sure it happens in the shooting phase, and it targets a unit, but it's never listed as an actual shooting attack. If this happened in the Movement, Psychic, or Assault phases it would be worded exactly the same.

If it said it was a shot made by the C'Tan, or a Shooting attack, then it'd follow the rules for shooting a weapon. But it doesn't, which means its not a shooting attack. Since it's not a shooting attack, it doesn't need to follow the restrictions that are applied to shooting attacks (such as Snap Firing, or being unable to use it before or after running, or being unable to shoot into close combat).

If you can show that it IS a shooting attack, then you'd be good, but I don't think you'll be able to.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

I think you are misunderstanding how this game works. Nothing is anything unless it is defined as such. Without the power stating it is a shooting attack it isn't one. Only shooting attacks cannot target units CC. It doesn't say it can snap shoot because it does not define itself as a shooting attack so it has no need to snap shoot. It can be used in conjunction with running because it does not define itself as a shooting attack. It can be used in CC because again, it is not defined as a shooting attack. This is in essence a special ability that happens in the shooting phase. Without it defining itself as a shooting attack it isn't a shooting attack.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/14 19:51:41


ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Yea it's not a shooting attack and therefore not restricted as such. It's a special ability.

Curious though, how can it shoot the power twice?
   
Made in us
[DCM]
.







RULE #1 Reminder - Follow it at all times!
   
Made in us
Deranged Necron Destroyer





Hettar wrote:
The book needs an FAQ pronto, this is clearly a shooting attack that dosnt roll to hit (no snap firing) but is in addition to the 2 powers he can already fire, would it not specify otherwise if this wasn't the case.


Hey what do you mean by the two powers he can already fire? The C'tans only have one wargear called "powers of the C'tan"

It's easy to assume that people arguing an interpretation you disagree with are just looking for an advantage for themselves... But it's quite often not the case.  
   
Made in ie
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller




Sandros101 wrote:
Yea it's not a shooting attack and therefore not restricted as such. It's a special ability.

Curious though, how can it shoot the power twice?


The argument, (though Im pretty sure it's incorrect) Is that a MC may fire 2 weapons and that each power is a weapon.
However I believe the weapon is the "powers of the C'tan" , and like the way a carnifex can't fire his "heavy venom cannon" twice, C'tan can't fire it's "powers" twice.
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard





SHE-FI-ELD

Well you can't snap shot something which isn't a shot in the first place.

And ignores cover is a special rule for weapons - so it technically does nothing to this if its not a weapon.

While there have previously been independent rules attached to models that function as specific group of powers but are not (Doom of Malentai springs to mind) I thought they streamlined those for this very reason. I wouldn't be surprised if they FAQ'd it as a witch fire, as it's functionally identical to many of them, and looks to me its intended to be but didn't spell.it.out.clearly. Unfortunately, the majority of the BRB doesn't account for anything which is not a shooting attack or not a CC attack, it is written as if nothing exists besides those.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2015/05/18 12:10:42


It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.

Tactical objectives are fantastic 
   
Made in ie
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller




To be fair It works like anrakyrs "mind in the machine" , or imperial guard "orders".

It requires 12" range and LOS, If you meet these criteria stuff happens. For GoD, that stuff happens to be eerily similar to psychic shriek.

I wouldn't be surprised if it was erratad, but it still works as is, and gives people a reason to bring a C'tan.
   
Made in us
Deranged Necron Destroyer





harkequin wrote:
Sandros101 wrote:
Yea it's not a shooting attack and therefore not restricted as such. It's a special ability.

Curious though, how can it shoot the power twice?


The argument, (though Im pretty sure it's incorrect) Is that a MC may fire 2 weapons and that each power is a weapon.
However I believe the weapon is the "powers of the C'tan" , and like the way a carnifex can't fire his "heavy venom cannon" twice, C'tan can't fire it's "powers" twice.


Each power is not an individual weapon that is listed under the C'tan, each power is part of a whole on a single piece of wargear called "Powers of the C'tan"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/18 23:38:23


It's easy to assume that people arguing an interpretation you disagree with are just looking for an advantage for themselves... But it's quite often not the case.  
   
Made in ie
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller




Oberron wrote:
harkequin wrote:
Sandros101 wrote:
Yea it's not a shooting attack and therefore not restricted as such. It's a special ability.

Curious though, how can it shoot the power twice?


The argument, (though Im pretty sure it's incorrect) Is that a MC may fire 2 weapons and that each power is a weapon.
However I believe the weapon is the "powers of the C'tan" , and like the way a carnifex can't fire his "heavy venom cannon" twice, C'tan can't fire it's "powers" twice.


Each power is not an individual weapon that is listed under the C'tan, each power is part of a whole on a single piece of wargear called "Powers of the C'tan"


Yup. I am aware, just pointing out what the other sides argument is.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: