Switch Theme:

Local 40K Tournament Necron Rule Question - Need Input  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




So, a local hobby shop where I live is hosting a tournament with the following rules in place:

• White Dwarf Rules are allowed

• Only Battle forged armies

• Players are Limited to 2 Detachments (Detachments may be from the same Faction)

• Formations count as a detachment

40k Approved Stamped Forgeworld is Allowed Provided it is not super heavy or Gargantuan.

• Data Slates are Not allowed.

• No Gargantuan Lords of War

My question is, if a Necrons player uses the Decurion Detachment, can he/she use more than 2 formations in this detachment according to the above rules? Keep in mind, two of the above rules state “Formations count as a detachment” and "Players are Limited to 2 Detachments (Detachments may be from the same Faction) ", so I’m trying to figure out if this specific Necrons detachment more or less gets around this, according to its own rules.

Any help would be great as it has started a debate between each other.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/22 00:08:25


 
   
Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

A formation already counts as a detachment - see the BRB.

The Decurion (and the eldar Warhost for that matter) are both a detachment - though they are made up of formations. Smaller formations taken within this large one gain the benefits of the large one or a detachment wide effect.

Ultimately the TO will have to decide it but I have never experienced an event where the Decurion was limited in what it could take regardless of how many detachments might have been allowed

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in gb
Bryan Ansell





Birmingham, UK

I would heavily suggest speaking with the event organisers about this.

IMO Necrons should be able to use a Decurion as standard. But the wording of the tourney rules appear to invalidate this.

No matter what Dakka members contribute it is ultimately how the store in question and their TO's intend this rule to work.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




The input here has been more or less my own thoughts on the matter too. I wanted to see if there was something I was missing. I do feel the tourney rules as written could be interpreted to not allow the Decurion Detachment to compromise of more than two formations, but as mentioned it’s really up to the TO.
   
 
Forum Index » Tournament and Local Gaming Discussion
Go to: