Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/20 20:02:17
Subject: Dreadclaws deepstriking onto other units
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
Normally you can't place units in such a way as to deepstrike onto other units and then scatter from there, but I don't see a rule that prevents it other than not being able to physically place your model in such a way.
The dreadclaws on the other hand might be able to do it because of their claw legs.
This becomes important with the kharybdis and the fist of khorne formation. Would it be legal to place the kharybdis on top of a tank and then scatter from there? Assuming it would physically fit under the kharybdis.
I can't imagine a lot of vehicles that would fit under it but I'm curious.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/20 20:09:23
Subject: Dreadclaws deepstriking onto other units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The rules say
"place one model from the unit anywhere on the table, in the position where you would like it to arrive'"
Unless I've missed it, there is no restriction on where you can place your model.
|
DFTT |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/20 20:13:22
Subject: Dreadclaws deepstriking onto other units
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
Yea, which is why I asking. I mean the only restriction seems to be that you actually place your model there. Which you can't exactly do with models on a base. or your average tank.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/20 20:38:00
Subject: Dreadclaws deepstriking onto other units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
..sure you can...
But the only model which you want to do this with is the kharybdis, which has big ol legs, making it easy..
|
DFTT |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/20 20:41:22
Subject: Dreadclaws deepstriking onto other units
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
Or a Anvillus, but with infantry to drop right on top and burn away
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/20 20:48:44
Subject: Dreadclaws deepstriking onto other units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Uhhhh an anvilus would just mishap. Only the formation rule for the kharybdis would prevent mishap. Mishap is pretty comprehensive and includes on top of enemy models.
|
DFTT |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/20 20:50:23
Subject: Dreadclaws deepstriking onto other units
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
Well, technically you have to land ON it, not over it :p
And if you were to scratch my paint work with your model, you'd probably receive an assault claw to the head lol
In all seriousness though, I would let you play it that way. You have to get something for the stupid cost (points and cash)
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/20 21:37:12
Subject: Dreadclaws deepstriking onto other units
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
Captyn_Bob wrote:Uhhhh an anvilus would just mishap. Only the formation rule for the kharybdis would prevent mishap. Mishap is pretty comprehensive and includes on top of enemy models.
Looking at the anvillus again, yea it's still too close to the ground for even a grot to still be inch away from it's hull. At best you might clip a unit between two claws.
Only the kharybdis might be able to stand over a unit and still be 1 inch away from both the hull and it's claws. Though it would probably have to me a small unit still.
But from what I can tell, as long as it you mange that, then it would be legal without prompting a mishap.
So not something that will happen often at all, but it's nice to know you could do it
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/20 22:02:08
Subject: Dreadclaws deepstriking onto other units
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
Mmmm, looking at the Chaos Drop Pod rules from IA13, it says that it enters play in hover mode as soon as it deep strikes.
Would this allow the dreadclaw to land on impassable terrain or move away from other units due to being forced to stop on top of a friendly or enemy model? Skimmers are allowed to do both of these things per the BRB, but I'm not sure if they'd apply or since the model isn't yet in the table it mishaps.
|
CSM 10k points
IG 3k points
Orks 2k points
WoC 3.5k points
VC 2.5k points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/20 23:19:17
Subject: Dreadclaws deepstriking onto other units
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
Roknar wrote:Captyn_Bob wrote:Uhhhh an anvilus would just mishap. Only the formation rule for the kharybdis would prevent mishap. Mishap is pretty comprehensive and includes on top of enemy models.
Looking at the anvillus again, yea it's still too close to the ground for even a grot to still be inch away from it's hull. At best you might clip a unit between two claws.
Only the kharybdis might be able to stand over a unit and still be 1 inch away from both the hull and it's claws. Though it would probably have to me a small unit still.
But from what I can tell, as long as it you mange that, then it would be legal without prompting a mishap.
So not something that will happen often at all, but it's nice to know you could do it 
He's not trying to avoid a mishap. The rules say he doesnt mishap on vehicles. He wants to know if he can place the claw on top of a vehicle before rolling scatter Automatically Appended Next Post: Lord Yayula wrote:Mmmm, looking at the Chaos Drop Pod rules from IA13, it says that it enters play in hover mode as soon as it deep strikes.
Would this allow the dreadclaw to land on impassable terrain or move away from other units due to being forced to stop on top of a friendly or enemy model? Skimmers are allowed to do both of these things per the BRB, but I'm not sure if they'd apply or since the model isn't yet in the table it mishaps.
It would allow it to be placed on impassable terrain, but does not allow it to avoid enemy models
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/20 23:20:43
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/21 02:20:21
Subject: Dreadclaws deepstriking onto other units
|
 |
Disguised Speculo
|
Lol, inb4 ymdc rules you can't drop the fist of khorne onto an enemy unit which is like, its entire purpose
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/21 06:33:36
Subject: Dreadclaws deepstriking onto other units
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, you can purposefully drop it anywhere on the table. Anyhere meaning anywhere.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/21 14:12:33
Subject: Dreadclaws deepstriking onto other units
|
 |
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant
|
You can drop it on your opponents foot as well if hes dumb enough to put it on the table  Yes you may place it over enemy models and vehicles. Buildings too! If he has stupid units like Broadsides inside a Bastion or what have you, CRUSH THEM! lol
|
Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.
12,000
14,000
11,000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/21 16:16:24
Subject: Dreadclaws deepstriking onto other units
|
 |
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought
|
So most of you seem to be saying you can put it absolutely anywhere? Like basically picking an imaginary point and scattering form there.
Instead of physically placing the model "anywhere" and scattering from there. Which would stop you from placing units on other units, since you can't place it....at least not without risking a fist to the face lol. I figured it would at least have to touch the table to be a valid initial placement?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/21 16:19:42
Subject: Dreadclaws deepstriking onto other units
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Well, they're being misleading. You can place it anywhere, but you still may face consequences of where you place it.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
|