Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/27 03:30:05
Subject: Firing at a transport/unit with multiple weapons
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Relearning the game from 5th and ran into a question with a friend of mine. Looked up some info on Dakka and didn't find this specific question answered, but I think we played it wrong. We were running Eldar V Eldar. I had a unit of Reapers with and exarch carrying the tempest launcher. He had 5 wraith guard in a DE transport Deep Striking. In the BRB it says that a squad fires all of one type of weapon before it moves on. I took this to mean I fired all my normal guys first and blew up the transport. Then moved onto my exarch and hit the squad. I thought I remembered somethingb like this in 5th. Was this incorrect? If so, is there any scenario where this could be done?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/27 03:50:59
Subject: Firing at a transport/unit with multiple weapons
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
mbutler132000 wrote:In the BRB it says that a squad fires all of one type of weapon before it moves on. I took this to mean I fired all my normal guys first and blew up the transport. Then moved onto my exarch and hit the squad. I thought I remembered somethingb like this in 5th. Was this incorrect? If so, is there any scenario where this could be done?
Yes, this was incorrect. Check the step by step breakdown of the Shooting Phase. You will note that you only repeat steps 3 through 6. Choosing a target is step 2.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/27 03:51:59
Subject: Firing at a transport/unit with multiple weapons
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If the Exarch has Split Fire, then this is fine. Otherwise, you couldn't do it, as the unit that was within the transport is a separate unit from the transport itself.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/27 03:54:11
Subject: Firing at a transport/unit with multiple weapons
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Yarium wrote:If the Exarch has Split Fire, then this is fine. Otherwise, you couldn't do it, as the unit that was within the transport is a separate unit from the transport itself.
You may want to reread the Split Fire special rule as to why this is illegal.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/27 03:57:17
Subject: Firing at a transport/unit with multiple weapons
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
The Split Fire rule disagrees with you..
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/05/27 03:57:49
Subject: Firing at a transport/unit with multiple weapons
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Ghaz wrote: Yarium wrote:If the Exarch has Split Fire, then this is fine. Otherwise, you couldn't do it, as the unit that was within the transport is a separate unit from the transport itself.
You may want to reread the Split Fire special rule as to why this is illegal.
Indeed, both Ghaz and insaniak are correct; Split Fire explicitly disallows this.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/05/27 03:58:45
|
|
 |
 |
|