Switch Theme:

Removed as casualty vs removed from play.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Xeno-Hating Inquisitorial Excruciator





So recently got into a discussion about the wraithknight and ways to kill it. I suggested tank shock. Everyone said no because gargantuan creatures can't be removed from play only d3 wounds. After reading up I noticed a failed death or glory is not removed from play however. It states the model is immediately removed as a casualty. Now the way I see it is that no matter what if a GC fails a death or glory it's dead as it is removed as a casualty. If GC are immune to this they are literally unkillable as in the section for removed as a casualty you take the model off the table. So far I've accepted to treat the wording in tank shock as removed from play but I wanted a second opinion on this matter.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Removed as a casualty triggers the D3 wounds.
   
Made in gb
Xeno-Hating Inquisitorial Excruciator





But if that's so surely when it loses it's final wound it has to be removed as a casualty. But this just inflicts d3 wounds instead, and set's it at zero wounds. It then has to be removed as a casualty but instead has to take d3 wounds and so on forever and effectively making a game that can never end?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Which is true, except when it hits zero wounds.
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith






I think you're discounting the fact that whenever ANY model is reduced to zero wounds/HPs then they're removed from the board as a casualty (superseding unit type).

The rule you're confused about is basically stating that a non-Gargantuan Creature unit will take wounds equal to it's total current wound count, but a Gargantuan Creature can't suffer that effect. Instead it suffers only D3 wounds, BUT if it's reduced to zero wounds from this effect, it's still removed from the game as a casualty as per the normal "death" rules for units.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/01 15:11:25


8000
2700 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: