Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/03 16:30:11
Subject: Blast template damage
|
 |
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade
|
Hey guys.. for template weapons the book says if any part of the model is covered by a blast template, it means its hit... I was watching a bat rep the other day and the guy said it needs to cover the base of the model somewhat in order to count as a hit. Is this true?
The way I play it is if any part of the model is under it, it counts as a hit... even if its like a piece of a rifle or some hair... w/e
I am not a tourney player so there were never objections about this.
Please help!
The Bat Rep was Blue Table Painting, btw,.... but those guys screw up the rules an awful lot it seems like.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/03 19:08:18
Subject: Blast template damage
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Usually, I play with hitting the base to count as a hit. For me and my group, it makes more sense if it were to possibly kill the model if you're hitting the actual body (the base), as opposed to just hitting the gun or an arm, which you would usually live through
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/03 19:08:40
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/03 19:11:13
Subject: Blast template damage
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
|
Hmmm, well I play that any piece of the attached model is touched, then it counts as a hit. I figured it's the same as true line of sight for shooting attacks. If you can see any scrap of the model, then that's true LoS.
I don't see why it would be any different for a blast template or flamer template. Can you see the 8 foot tall genetically modified space marines foot? Then that counts as a hit. Would it kill him realistically? Nope, but for gameplay it tends to be easier to go 100% with true LoS than to pick and choose.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/03 19:47:29
Subject: Blast template damage
|
 |
Fluttering Firewyrm of Tzeentch
|
I'd say base usually.
Things like Pink horrors can cause issues because they're leaning so far out from their base, and a greater daemon has a 4-inch whip sticking out the front which would be a pain.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/03 21:33:26
Subject: Blast template damage
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
|
You know, I suppose that's true. I don't really have any models with long dangly bits, but for an instance like the DP with a whip that would be a huge extra target.
I guess counting all of the model might lead to more people modeling for advantage, than just the base.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/04 11:17:38
Subject: Blast template damage
|
 |
Disguised Speculo
|
The base is how rational people translate "any part of the model".
Killing something by shooting its weapon, hair, or flag etc is stupid. Even by GW standards.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/04 13:22:34
Subject: Blast template damage
|
 |
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade
|
Thanks for the help guys.. i thought this was strange... lets say you made a Eldar wraithknight and made one arm stick out.. to make it look like its shooting its cannon... his hit area for templates would then be much much larger.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/04 17:45:45
Subject: Blast template damage
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
As a general courtesy we always play that base is all that matters, even though people might argue otherwise. For example, I model all my sergeants with either their chainsword or their bolter extended outwards pointing at the enemy, but my opponent models all of his to just be holding it at the chest..... should my model get hit simply because I wanted my models to look cooler? Keep in mind too that when drawing line of sight you're supposed to ignore wings/guns/banners for regular shooting.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/04 18:02:55
Subject: Blast template damage
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
clamclaw wrote:Hmmm, well I play that any piece of the attached model is touched, then it counts as a hit. I figured it's the same as true line of sight for shooting attacks. If you can see any scrap of the model, then that's true LoS.
Not strictly true - although vague, the LOS rules do specifically call out things like protruding weapons, hair, and accessories not being sufficient to draw LOS. I've played blast weapons the same way, sticking to base contact to sort things out, although the same rule doesn't necessarily apply.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/04 18:43:47
Subject: Blast template damage
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
|
Jambles wrote: clamclaw wrote:Hmmm, well I play that any piece of the attached model is touched, then it counts as a hit. I figured it's the same as true line of sight for shooting attacks. If you can see any scrap of the model, then that's true LoS.
Not strictly true - although vague, the LOS rules do specifically call out things like protruding weapons, hair, and accessories not being sufficient to draw LOS. I've played blast weapons the same way, sticking to base contact to sort things out, although the same rule doesn't necessarily apply.
Totally serious, my mind = blown... I've been playing in a group with true LOS counting ANY part of the model... Damn. I'll have to try the proper way and see how it goes (playing CSM, this should help loads due to al my spiky and point bits hanging off).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/05 01:14:45
Subject: Blast template damage
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
Moved to 40K You Make Da Call!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/05 01:23:47
Subject: Blast template damage
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Base was absolutely the old rules.
New rules are any part of the model.
Some attempt to cite barrels, banners etc as not counting as body to say that a long gun puts the model not within blast, this is wrong application. Barrels/banners not counting is not counting as body for los.
If your gun barrel is under the template, your model is hit. RAW and a specific change.
The batrep you were watching being wrong is not that egregious; it is a recent and oft overlooked change.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/08 15:19:32
Subject: Blast template damage
|
 |
Drew_Riggio
|
Which page in the BRB does it states : Wings etc. do not count towards los of a model?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/08 15:22:45
Subject: Blast template damage
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
dameanone wrote:Which page in the BRB does it states : Wings etc. do not count towards los of a model?
Page 14, General Principles - Line of Sight.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/08 15:26:23
Subject: Blast template damage
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
dameanone wrote:Which page in the BRB does it states : Wings etc. do not count towards los of a model?
Surprisingly enough, its found in 'Line of Sight' in the General Principles section of the rulebook.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/06/08 17:16:26
Subject: Blast template damage
|
 |
Drew_Riggio
|
Ghaz wrote: dameanone wrote:Which page in the BRB does it states : Wings etc. do not count towards los of a model?
Surprisingly enough, its found in 'Line of Sight' in the General Principles section of the rulebook.
Thanks! I share a rulebook, and dont have it with me!
|
|
 |
 |
|