Switch Theme:

Choosing overwatch target  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Fresh-Faced New User




If i get charged by two targets, can i then choose not to overwatch the first charging unit and instead do it on the second unit?
I know that in the 7th book it says in the charge sub-face that you declare a charge, do the owerwatch, roll for distance and then move the models before doing the next charge. And that models in base contact with eachother are considered to be locked in combat. and units that are locked in combat can't overwatch.

But, since there is a charge sub-phase and an assault sub-phase does that mean that all the charges happen at the same time, and that means that i can choose which target to use my overwatch on?

   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Just because they occur within the same sub-phase does not mean they are simultaneous. In fact the rules are quite clearly sequential, so you can't go back and fire overwatch against a unit that declared a charge and has already made their charge move.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/07 07:58:19


 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Your only option to shoot unit two is to opt not to shoot at number one, and gamble on number one failing its charge distance.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




The only way to not have to overwatch against the first declared charge is if you think they arent going to make the charge distance. one unit can only ever overwatch once per charge declared.

   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Jimsolo wrote:
Your only option to shoot unit two is to opt not to shoot at number one, and gamble on number one failing its charge distance.

Pretty much this.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The Golden Throne

So yes? The first unit to make contact prevents overwatch on other units assuming overwatch was not used in first unit?
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 Byte wrote:
So yes? The first unit to make contact prevents overwatch on other units assuming overwatch was not used in first unit?


The first charging unit successfully making their charge move locks the charged unit in combat. What do the "Overwatch Restrictions" rules have to say about units that are locked in combat being able to fire overwatch?
   
Made in ax
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot





 Byte wrote:
So yes? The first unit to make contact prevents overwatch on other units assuming overwatch was not used in first unit?


not locked in combat if the charging unit is wiped out.

A Dark Angel fell on a watcher in the Dark Shroud silently chanted Vengance on the Fallen Angels to never be Unforgiven 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Bishop F Gantry wrote:
 Byte wrote:
So yes? The first unit to make contact prevents overwatch on other units assuming overwatch was not used in first unit?


not locked in combat if the charging unit is wiped out.


even if you kill the charging unit on overwatch, a unit can only fire overwatch once in the assault phase. which is why charging in one model to soak fire for a larger more important group is a legit strategy
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





You can opt to not shoot Overwatch at unit 1, if unit 1 succeeds their charge, you will not be able to Overwatch unit two.

However, if unit 1 fails to charge and/or dies some how you can overwatch against unit 2.
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The Golden Throne

This is a change from 6th right? You had to declare all charges and than chose which charging squad, yes?



Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Mr. Shine wrote:
 Byte wrote:
So yes? The first unit to make contact prevents overwatch on other units assuming overwatch was not used in first unit?


The first charging unit successfully making their charge move locks the charged unit in combat. What do the "Overwatch Restrictions" rules have to say about units that are locked in combat being able to fire overwatch?


No reason to be condescending.

At some point of the rules charges were considered simultaneous, I have 6 editions jumbled up in my head.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/15 22:31:50


 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 Byte wrote:
No reason to be condescending.

At some point of the rules charges were considered simultaneous, I have 6 editions jumbled up in my head.


I was steering you in the right direction to discover the rule for yourself, not being condescending. I believe it a better way for people to remember relatively simple misunderstood or not spotted rules by finding them themselves rather than simply being told the rules say so.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Byte wrote:
This is a change from 6th right? You had to declare all charges and than chose which charging squad, yes?

No . You haven't had to do that since 2nd edition .




 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Whacked wrote:
You can opt to not shoot Overwatch at unit 1, if unit 1 succeeds their charge, you will not be able to Overwatch unit two.

However, if unit 1 fails to charge and/or dies some how you can overwatch against unit 2.

Page 45 brb, a unit being charged may only fire overwatch once per turn
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

die toten hosen wrote:
 Whacked wrote:
You can opt to not shoot Overwatch at unit 1, if unit 1 succeeds their charge, you will not be able to Overwatch unit two.

However, if unit 1 fails to charge and/or dies some how you can overwatch against unit 2.

Page 45 brb, a unit being charged may only fire overwatch once per turn

He didn't say that you could fire Overwatch against both units, but that you could choose to fire Overwatch at the second unit that charges you if the first unit fails in its charge.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The Golden Throne

 Mr. Shine wrote:
 Byte wrote:
No reason to be condescending.

At some point of the rules charges were considered simultaneous, I have 6 editions jumbled up in my head.


I was steering you in the right direction to discover the rule for yourself, not being condescending. I believe it a better way for people to remember relatively simple misunderstood or not spotted rules by finding them themselves rather than simply being told the rules say so.


I read the rule, it wasn't completely clear to me. That's what prompted my question. Kinda how that works. I've played 40k for 20 years man. Even old vets need to ask questions from time to time.

I consider this a hole in the rules. If the assaults are conducted one at a time, units should be designated by majority initiative.

Thanks for all the helpful folks that cleared this up for me.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/16 02:53:12


 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 Byte wrote:
I read the rule, it wasn't completely clear to me. That's what prompted my question. Kinda how that works. I've played 40k for 20 years man. Even old vets need to ask questions from time to time.


And I pointed you in the right direction to re-read what you'd missed... I'm not making a point of you having a simple question needing a simple answer; again I just find it far more sensible to point people in the right direction rather than spoon feeding, and I don't think it was at all condescending without the assumption being made that I was treating you as if you were a simpleton (and of course I wasn't and I'm not!)
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The Golden Throne

O the internet...
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





 Ghaz wrote:
die toten hosen wrote:
 Whacked wrote:
You can opt to not shoot Overwatch at unit 1, if unit 1 succeeds their charge, you will not be able to Overwatch unit two.

However, if unit 1 fails to charge and/or dies some how you can overwatch against unit 2.

Page 45 brb, a unit being charged may only fire overwatch once per turn

He didn't say that you could fire Overwatch against both units, but that you could choose to fire Overwatch at the second unit that charges you if the first unit fails in its charge.


This is correct.

Situation to make it more clear
:
Unit 2 is 4 inches from the unit being charged. Unit 1 is 10 inches away.

I expect Unit 2 to make the charge, but my opponent charges first with Unit 1. Unit 1 is not a threat to my models in CC, however Unit 2 is. I determine that he will fail the charge, and I gamble by opting not to fire Overwatch.

Scenario A: He makes the charge, I lose any attempt to Overwatch at either unit.

Scenario B: He fails to charge Unit 1, but declares charge with Unit 2. I proceed to Overwatch Unit 2.
   
Made in no
Crazed Cultist of Khorne






And I guess since you are firing through a third unit, you are granting a cover save to your target right?
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Only if the second unit is coming from behind the first.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: