Switch Theme:

Dark Eldar Nightmare Doll vs D weapons...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

I got into a rather heated debate on another forum about how this resolves and thought I might get a second opinion from the YMDC community just to make sure I did not miss anything...

The shooting phase is...

1. Nominate a unit to shoot
2. Choose a target
3. Select a weapon
4. Roll to hit
5. Roll to wound
6. Allocate wounds & remove casualties

So, a unit with D weapons (like a wraith knight) is picked to fire (1). It nominates a unit (2) of grotesques as the target. It elects to fire both wraith cannons (3). It rolls to hit (4) and gets a 3 and a 5 - 2 hits by the BS chart.

NOW...
(5) is replaced with 2 rolls on the D chart. a 3 and a 6 are rolled resulting in 2 automatic wounds in 2 separate wound pools as they have different effects (exactly like having a rending vs non rending hit). This pool process is in the to wound section of the BRB. It is very clear that special rules separate into different pools.

(6) tells us to allocate wounds from the pools in an order by the firing player but each pool must be emptied before the next is started.

At this stage the closest Grot is selected and the 3 wound pool is selected. The target is now allowed a save vs the wound (with Ap2 its failed). We are now told to reduce the models wounds by 1... but wait! The D chart said that "the models suffer a hit that wounds automatically and causes it to lose D3 wounds instead of 1". We now roll a D3 and get a 2 - not enough to kill the grot.

The second pool of the 6 result is now allocated to the closest (now wounded) grot. Again the target would normally be allowed a save but Deathblow says "The model suffers a hit that wounds automatically and causes it to loose D6+6 wounds instead of 1. No saves of any kind are allowed against this hit." so the Grot now takes D6+6 wounds and dies horribly but because the wound is already allocated, these over kill wounds which are being applied don't spill over (confirmed in the FAQ).

Now... the nightmare doll says - "The bearer of the NMD adds 1 to any FNP rolls he makes. Furthermore, the NMD automatically negates the first UNSAVED wound with the ID special rule that the bearer suffers, although as soon as it does so, the NMD will immediately cease to work for the rest of the battle.

So in the above sequence, We are hit, automatically wounded, the wounds are pooled and then allocated. As D weapons count as S10 it will inflict ID on the haemy. He suffers an unsaved wound. The doll breaks as he has suffered an unsaved wound and as such the wound is negated. You never get to the lose dX wounds as the wound has been negated.

Does that make sense?

Essentially, the nightmare doll can stop a single deathblow in a game from a D weapon.

Did I miss something?

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






A recent thread on this issue (still on the first page):
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/651193.page
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 Quanar wrote:
A recent thread on this issue (still on the first page):
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/651193.page


This.

Though i'm not certain it'll stop a "Deathblow", you method is correct for "Seriously Wounded".

Can you have an "unsaved" Wound if "no saves of any kind are allowed"?
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






 BlackTalos wrote:
Can you have an "unsaved" Wound if "no saves of any kind are allowed"?
I would say yes - otherwise you would not be able to take Feel No Pain rolls against AP2 weaponry (assuming no Invuln or Cover). Whilst I'm sure the term 'unsaved wound' used to have a more concrete definition in the rulebook, I'm struggling to find it and suspect I'm suffering from edition confusion.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 Quanar wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
Can you have an "unsaved" Wound if "no saves of any kind are allowed"?
I would say yes - otherwise you would not be able to take Feel No Pain rolls against AP2 weaponry (assuming no Invuln or Cover). Whilst I'm sure the term 'unsaved wound' used to have a more concrete definition in the rulebook, I'm struggling to find it and suspect I'm suffering from edition confusion.


Probably another thing they removed, but I agree.
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

There is already a thread for this.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

I think it would be unnecessarily splitting hairs to specifically define an unsavable (i.e. no saves of any kind allowed) wound as being different in terms of the rules to an unsaved wound.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 Jimsolo wrote:
There is already a thread for this.


And i think they are both resolved.

I had not noticed the one you started also contained the '6 : Deathblow' and as Mr. Shine says, it's just me picking at threads

I'm happy moving on, though still uneasy about that part if it ever needs to come up again ...

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
.







Please go see that other thread, already linked here, for the ongoing discussion.

Thanks!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: