Switch Theme:

Face to Face with ARO and Burst Fire - who hits?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




So I thought I understood this, and an argument with a bunch of new players led me to question:

Two models are in a face to face where the active player's model (Model A) is shooting a burst three and the reacting player's model (Model B) is using ARO to fire back a single shot.

1.) What happens when Model B hits, and scores higher than all of Model A's rolls. Does Model B hit Model A, and all of Model A's shots are canceled (because they were all lower). The rules in N3 really do seem to imply that an ARO can only cancel a single attack, not every attack with a lower roll (which was not how I read 2nd edition).

2.) What happens when Model A hits with two shots (both higher than Model B's roll)? Does Model A simply win the Face to Face and a single ARM roll is required for Model B? Or are 2 ARM rolls now required, one for each successful shot?

The rules in N3 seem to explain a lot, but answer neither of these questions. :(

Zeke
   
Made in se
Wicked Warp Spider






Ios

1) Model B cancels ALL shots model A shot. Only the winning model's winning shots hit. This is covered on page 8 under label "Face to Face roll" for reference.

2) Model B is hit twice and takes appropriate save(s) per shot and after the order is done makes a guts roll if still capable of doing so. Please note that some ammunition provides BTS saves, several ARM saves or combinations there of. (BS attack results, page 34)

I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




One more quesiton:

An extreme impetuous character has a list of legal combinations of skills on p. 47. They cannot combine Jump with any other skill.
Normally this is because Jump takes an Entire Order.

However if the extreme impetuous model has Super-Jump (like the werewolves), Jump becomes a short skill.

Are these characters still restricted to the list of skill combinations on p. 47?
   
Made in se
Wicked Warp Spider






Ios

It becomes a short MOVE skill, so unless I am mistaken it is now treated as a MOVE + something on the table.

I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. 
   
 
Forum Index » Corvus Belli (Infinity)
Go to: