Switch Theme:

Officer of the fleet in reserves, able to take his test for ability?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I have a question about when an Officer of the Fleet (Astra Militarium) can make a leadership test to see if he can either add one to friendly reserve rolls or subtract one from enemy reserve rolls. Can the model do this when he is in reserves? I could not find anything stating a model can't take a test when in reserve nor any other reason he can't take the test.

If this is not allowed, where is the rule that states that a model that has permission to take a test can not be reserves?
   
Made in th
Sister Oh-So Repentia





If not stated then you can. The rule does not precise that he must be on the field to use his special abilities.

Prahhhhhh the Emperahhhhh

+ 13/1/1 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




For future reference to others that read this thread I emailed frontline gaming about this (same question as op) and received back:

Hi William,

Models not on the table can use an ability when it is expressly allowed, such as with the Autarch.

Reece







Till someone can point me to a rule stating you can not take a leadership test when in reserves then I am going to play with the assumption that I can!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/25 04:08:56


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






There are two schools of thought on this.

The 1st is that models not yet deployed are models not in play. You dont need rules describing what models not in play can and cannot do. The problem with this reasoning is there are mounds and mounds of rules that are clearly meant to function before a model is deployed or in play. Using only the RAW there is no way to determine which rules should apply before a model is deployed and which should not. This is the 2nd school of thought. If you cant seperate them in the RAW then eithervall rules should apply or all rules should not. Clearly some must apply therefor all must apply. The problem here is where does it end. Dead models are not in play anymore but nothing says there rules stop applying.

There is no Correct RAW awnser. You can only assume the most reasonable RAI awnser, and thats the one frontline goes with. If a rule specificly states it functions while the model is not in play then it should apply, otherwise it should not.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: