Switch Theme:

Deathleaper vs Stuborn  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Calgary

I'm at work right now so I don't have access to my BrB but I'm curious on this ruling.

If your field Azreal and you're facing an opponent that has Deathleeper, can the opponent debuff the entire DA army by lowering the leadership of Azreal by D3. Furthermore, does stubborn have any effect on this?

Anyone who is married knows that Khorne is really a woman. 
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

 Inkubas wrote:
I'm at work right now so I don't have access to my BrB but I'm curious on this ruling.

If your field Azreal and you're facing an opponent that has Deathleeper, can the opponent debuff the entire DA army by lowering the leadership of Azreal by D3. Furthermore, does stubborn have any effect on this?


If that's what the Deathleaper does, yes.
But Stubborn makes you count-as Ld10 for (correct me if necessary) morale checks (from shooting, combat, etc).

Stubborn would come in as a set modifier, as per multiple modifiers.

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Stubborn makes you immune to LD modifiers from combat results. It has no impact on Death Leapers rule. As for Azrael's rule it is optional. So you'd debuff him and any units that had a higher LD than his debuffed value would ignore it and any units with lower would still choose to use Azrael's LD.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Wait, it's no longer mandatory to use Azrael's Leadership?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Nope now it is a "can use" clause

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 FlingitNow wrote:
Stubborn makes you immune to LD modifiers from combat results. It has no impact on Death Leapers rule. As for Azrael's rule it is optional. So you'd debuff him and any units that had a higher LD than his debuffed value would ignore it and any units with lower would still choose to use Azrael's LD.

Stubborn has nothing to do with combat results
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Has it changed from 6th? What does stubborn say now am away from my rulebook (moving so it's in the bottom of some box).

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

In seventh Stubborn ignores all negative modifiers, but only when taking Morale and Pinning tests.

The modifier applies to Azrael. After that, units may still use his leadership if they choose, but I don't think a Stubborn unit could use his unmodified Ld (the modifier applies to him, not them).

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Cheers missed that change.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

CrownAxe wrote:Stubborn has nothing to do with combat results

Jimsolo wrote:In seventh Stubborn ignores all negative modifiers, but only when taking Morale and Pinning tests.

A little misleading.

Stubborn allows you to ignore the Combat Results that would reduce the unit's Leadership when making the Morale Check. It doesn't prevent the Morale Check, though.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Charistoph wrote:
CrownAxe wrote:Stubborn has nothing to do with combat results

Jimsolo wrote:In seventh Stubborn ignores all negative modifiers, but only when taking Morale and Pinning tests.

A little misleading.

Stubborn allows you to ignore the Combat Results that would reduce the unit's Leadership when making the Morale Check. It doesn't prevent the Morale Check, though.


How was what I said misleading?

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in ca
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Calgary

Oh sweet one more question for the nid players here. Can a flying hive tyrant shoot with two twin-linked brain leech devourer and then fire electroshock grubs? The rules seemnto say that MC can fire only two weapons but I have a friend that states that the two brain leech are one weapon and the grubs are another.

Anyone who is married knows that Khorne is really a woman. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Nope, he's cheating you. Each devourer is a separate weapon and the tyranid codex says the grubs are a "ranged weapon" as well. Just because you take two of the same thing doesn't mean it counts as a single choice. I would also make sure he's paying for the second devourer.
   
Made in ca
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Calgary

Thanks for the info. I don't think that he is cheating as much as he gets confused and interprets things oddly. I've corrected him on blast templates ignoring cover, pinning bikes, fear tests on space marines, allocating wounds to models not in LOS, ignoring wounds in the wound pool, etc.

Anyone who is married knows that Khorne is really a woman. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I would explain it to him by using a wraith lord as an example. It can take a couple of bright lances as well as 2 flamers. Thats 4 weapons. Just because they are paired doesn't mean he can fire all 4 in a single turn.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Jimsolo wrote:
Charistoph wrote:
CrownAxe wrote:Stubborn has nothing to do with combat results

Jimsolo wrote:In seventh Stubborn ignores all negative modifiers, but only when taking Morale and Pinning tests.

A little misleading.

Stubborn allows you to ignore the Combat Results that would reduce the unit's Leadership when making the Morale Check. It doesn't prevent the Morale Check, though.


How was what I said misleading?

It was the combination that was correct, just making sure that it was clear for those following at home.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Inkubas wrote:
Oh sweet one more question for the nid players here. Can a flying hive tyrant shoot with two twin-linked brain leech devourer and then fire electroshock grubs? The rules seemnto say that MC can fire only two weapons but I have a friend that states that the two brain leech are one weapon and the grubs are another.


It is possible (though unlikely due to how you worded it) he has old codex syndrome. In the previous codex, E. Grubs could be used even if an MC fired two weapons.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: