Switch Theme:

Nemesis Dread knight Shunt and assault?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Blood Angel Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries




So my friend has a new GK army, and he has a few Dread Knights that have personal teleporters on them.

Last game we played, he pulled a move against my praetorians that I feel shouldn't be right? (I'm still new to 40k so if this is blatantly obvious I'm sorry)

He teleported his 30 inches, into base contact with my praetorians. The rules for the personal teleporters state that a unit cannot charge after teleporting.

But if he teleports into base contact, he didn't acctually charge, and so he states that he can jump with the personal teleporter, not charge, and be in assault vs. my praetorians.

Is this correct? It feels so wrong... but.. Grey knights are wrong in more than that way, so it might be true.

 
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch





ft. Bragg

He can not be within 1" of your models without having performed a charge...pg 18 brb under "models in the way"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/29 05:03:57


Let a billion souls burn in death than for one soul to bend knee to a false Emperor.....
"I am the punishment of God, had you not committed great sin, God would not have sent a punishment like me upon you" 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






In the section of the rulebook that explains the Movement Phase:
Models in the Way
A model cannot move within 1" of an enemy model unless they are charging into close combat in the Assault phase,
I don't have the GK codex, but hopefully someone can confirm if I'm right that a teleport in this case doesn't use the rules for Deep Strike, but is instead a Jump Pack move with modified distance? If that's the case then no, he can't teleport directly into combat (sneaking past getting overwatched as well). The only times you can move to within 1" of enemy models is:
A) When charging,
B) Pile-In moves,
C) Special rules that explicitly state you can / must (Ork Shokk Attack Gun misfire, Zadsnark Da' Rippa, perhaps a few others).
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






The teleport shunt uses its own rules, but the key part is that it "moves up to 30 inches in tje movement phase", so yes it must not end its shunt within 1 inch of an enemy model.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: