Switch Theme:

Vanguard Veterans' 'Heroic Intervention' rule. Does it work if there is an IC in the unit??  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




Might seem like a simple question, but the answer is being hotly debated in my gaming circle.

As listed in the 'Special Rules' subheading for independent characters:

When an Independent Character joins a unit, it might have different special rules from
those of the unit. Unless specified in the rule itself (as in the Stubborn special rule), the
unit’s special rules are not conferred upon the Independent Character, and the
Independent Character’s special rules are not conferred upon the unit. Special rules that
are conferred to the unit only apply for as long as the Independent Character is with
them.


Heroic intervention allows the VVs to *basically* have fleet when assaulting (re-roll one or two dice) as well as ignore the penalties for disorderly charges. The question is, if say, a Chapter Master joins the unit, do they still get to re-roll their charge range?

The initial answer feels like it *should* be yes, but RAW it seems like there is a solid argument for 'no'. Can any experienced rules people give their opinion here? Can anyone think of similar examples within the rules to use as precedents?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
For added clarity, the special rules entry for Heroic Intervention begins with "A unt with this special rule can re-roll... etc"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/29 18:07:53


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

It depends on the rest of the rule, but if that is the only qualifier, than the IC is part of the unit and included in the rules that affect a unit.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






In this case the rule only refers to "a unit with this special rule" and the bennefits effect the unit as a whole. Because the IC is a member of the unit he has joined he will receive the Bennett.

The rule you quoted is more for rules that affect individual models.
   
Made in us
Rogue Daemonhunter fueled by Chaos






Toledo, OH

I swear to god this was a question as far back as 5th edition.

Edit: looking back, actually the 5th edition rule specified that Heroic Intervention did not work if an IC was attached. Never mind then!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/06/29 20:09:28


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: