Switch Theme:

Mawloc on Impassable Terrain  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ar
Regular Dakkanaut




Say you DS your Mawloc and it Scatters on Impassable Terrain (say a Wall) but there are models that can be hit.

Does the mawloc place the large blast marker and resolve both attack as normal and in the end roll for DS mishap?
Or it skips the marker and rolls directly for mishap ?

This is the rule
Terror From the Deep wrote:
When arriving from Deep Strike Reserve, a Mawloc can choose to Deep Strike onto a point occupied by another model (friend or foe) – roll for scatter as normal. If a Mawloc Deep Strikes onto a point occupied by another model, do not roll on the Deep Strike Mishap table. Instead, place the large blast marker directly over the spot the Mawloc is deep striking onto. All units except Flyers and Flying Monstrous Creatures beneath the blast marker suffer a number of Strength 6 AP2 hits with the Ignores Cover special rule equal to the number of models that unit has underneath the blast marker. If the blast marker is on a multi-level ruin, only models on the lowest level of the ruin count as being under the blast marker. For Wound allocation purposes, assume the attack is coming from the centre of the blast marker. Hits against vehicles are resolved against their side armour.

If, after removing casualties, it is now possible to place the Mawloc on the table on the spot where the blast marker landed, then do so, even if this is within 1" of another model (but not if it would be in base contact with, or occupying the same space as, another model). If it is not possible to place the Mawloc, replace the large blast marker on the spot and resolve another round of damage as detailed above. If, after removing casualties for a second time, it is still not possible to place the Mawloc, roll on the Deep Strike Mishap table.


The rule never mention impassable terrain other than models, RAW the only condition to use the marker is "if there is one model where the mawloc DS"

Of course, in the end it will roll for Mishap as it won't be able to place the model due to impassable terrain.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/07/13 16:59:43


 
   
Made in mx
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan




Mexico

I believe it gets it's hits.
   
Made in gb
Xeno-Hating Inquisitorial Excruciator





It would only get its hits if the mawloc model comes in contact with the enemy not the large blast. However I dont knkw how the priority for the deepstrike rule works because it says if you cant deploy the model due to impassable terrain you imedialy mishap.
   
Made in us
Ancient Ultramarine Venerable Dreadnought





I'd say it depends on what kind of wall it is.

Is the wall part of a model? i.e. Aegis defense wall etc? Let the Mawloc whack away at the wall twice. If the wall gets destroyed Yay. otherwise it's off to the mishap. I'd give the army men models a pretty hefty cover save, especially if the wall withstands the mawloc.

My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
Made in ar
Regular Dakkanaut




Yes, I know that the large blast marker is slight wider than base of the Mawloc, and that the base is the one that have to be under the model.

This section of the rule:
If a Mawloc Deep Strikes onto a point occupied by another model, do not roll on the Deep Strike Mishap table. Instead, (...)

If the requiered item is "a point occupied by another model" it is met, also, there is a big wall...

We were talking about this with a friend, we said that it would get the hits, as a narrative, it would dig up and try to go out, making everything tremble, some holes... that would affect some people standing there... but again, GW.
A lonly lucky guardman will stop a big F***ng wurm from comming out of the ground.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Breton wrote:
I'd say it depends on what kind of wall it is.

Is the wall part of a model? i.e. Aegis defense wall etc? Let the Mawloc whack away at the wall twice. If the wall gets destroyed Yay. otherwise it's off to the mishap. I'd give the army men models a pretty hefty cover save, especially if the wall withstands the mawloc.


Actually, that would depend on the side of the wall the mayority of the mawloc's body is. (though the rule says no cover saves)

But I meant a wall like the wall of a ruin.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/13 17:45:58


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: