Switch Theme:

Skyhammer: When do you pick which turn to come in?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

"Instead of using the normal deployment and reserve rules for these units you can, during deployment, choose whether this Formation will arrive during your first or second turn."

So let's say the Skyhammer player goes first. He finishes setting up his Imperial Knight. His opponent sets up some Necrons. The Skyhammer player than Infiltrates some Scouts.

At what point in this sequence does the Skyhammer player decide whether it comes T1 or T2? At any point? Before the Necrons deploy? While he's Infiltrating?

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






It seems to be at any point, including Infiltrators (Infiltrating is still deploying - "Units that contain at least one model with this special rule are deployed last..."). It doesn't use the wording found in other similar rules (Deathwing Assault - "Immediately after determining Warlord Traits..."), but is before Scout re-deployments ("After both sides have deployed").

The phrase "Instead of using the normal deployment..." seems particularly redundant, since the previous sentence (not quoted) places them all into Deep Strike Reserves, and the "can" choose implies you could choose neither and just use the normal reserves rules (but not the Drop Pod Assault rules, as those are excluded in the last sentence?).

Ugh, and what happens when both players have Skyhammers? "Choose when yours is arriving." "Nu-uh, you choose, then I'll say." "No way! You choose first..." (handled by the Sequencing rule on page 17, but either way you end up with an unhappy player).
   
Made in ca
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Vancouver, BC

I'd imagine it is when you declare your reserves: so if you have first turn, you declare it before the opponent deploys, and vice versa if you have second.

That's my hiwpi, and I feel like that is what they meant, since that is how reserves are usually handled.

 warboss wrote:
Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be.
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






During deployment would be when you would normally deploy those units.

Generally this is during normal deployment(before infiltrate and scouts redeployment). But if there came out some warlord trait that granted units in your army infiltrate you would decide then.

So generally it is around the same time as you are deploying your knight/preparing reserves for non-infiltrate units. You do not prepare them normally, but you do prepare them and choose when they come in at this time.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: