Switch Theme:

Wood Elf Wild riders  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Their special rules says they can run and charge in the same turn? is this a typo? should it be move and shoot? or is running and charging something a unit would like to do?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Never mind, I reread the rules... So the Wildriders can Run > then charge, I didnt realize it was two different phases..

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/19 19:59:39


 
   
Made in tw
Hunting Glade Guard




Of particular note for the WIld Riders - and any model that can do what they can (run and charge) - what you want to do is charge in, do your damage with your bonuses for charging, and on your next turn disengage, run, and then charge right back in if you still have enough models for the charge bonuses again. This is especially true if you win the dice-off and get two turns in a row.

Most cavalry benefits from disengaging from combat after the initial charge and going in the next turn - WR are especially good at this tactic because of their rules.
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User





You can't charge on the same turn you retreat, unless the model has a special rule to specifically allow it (marauder horsemen for example)

The ability to run and charge means you can move 12", then run an extra d6 inches, then charge 2d6 inches on top of that.

Without that ability you'd have to run OR charge.

[EDIT} retreat is the proper term, not disengage

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/24 15:23:36


 
   
Made in tw
Hunting Glade Guard




Right, I was using disengage as a literal term, as in, removing the unit from being engaged in combat. Retreat would be the proper game rule term.

Also, you are correct, you'd have to retreat on one turn and then charge in the next turn. Still probably preferable to staying in the fight - any protracted combat in AoS is generally going to be unpleasant for al involved (not necessarily for the players, but certainly for the unfortunate models stuck in the meat-grinder.)
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User





I think a lot of cavalry benefits from retreat + run (placing it face enough away that it can't be reliably charged and losing a turn of combat then charging back in. Some of the on-charge abilities are pretty amazing.
   
 
Forum Index » Warhammer: Age of Sigmar
Go to: