Switch Theme:

Do I get my Big Mek's MFF/KFF saves on my Big Mek Stompas' Power Fields?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Boosting Space Marine Biker





St. Louis, MO

Did a quick search but most topics were pre-6th/7th edition Ork Codex.

Do I get my Big Mek's MFF/KFF saves on my Big Mek Stompas' Power Fields?

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Does the KFF protect models?

Is the Big Mek Stompas' Power Field a model?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre



california

Yes you do
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL



Actually you do not. The KFF gives all Models a save. The shield is not a model.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/23 19:13:11


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Pretty sure the power field rules says it hits the shield instead of the model.
So a KFF would have no effect.
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre



california

 DeathReaper wrote:


Actually you do not. The KFF gives all Models a save. The shield is not a model.


State the rule. If I create the shield on my model, is it therefore not a model, part of the model, therefore getting hit?
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Pain4Pleasure wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:


Actually you do not. The KFF gives all Models a save. The shield is not a model.


State the rule. If I create the shield on my model, is it therefore not a model, part of the model, therefore getting hit?

Power Fields is a special rule, not a model
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

The Citadel miniatures used to play games of Warhammer 40,000 are referred to as ‘models’ in the rules that follow. Models represent a huge variety of troops, from noble Space Marines and brutal Orks to Warp-spawned Daemons. To reflect all their differences, each model has its own characteristics profile.
- Models and Units opening paragraph
In addition to its characteristics profile, each model will have a unit type, such as Infantry or Monstrous Creature
- Other Important information, Models and Units

This informs us that there is Rule defined terminology called 'Model,' which will always have their own Characteristic profile and Unit Type. If something does not have their own Characteristics and Unit Type, then they fail to meet the definition of 'Model' and will not be considered a Model as far as the Rules are concerned. This is very annoying as Game Workshop has also used the word model when talking about the plastic miniatures used to play the game, most noticeably in the Terrain section of the book. However, when a Rule specifies Model it is only capable of referring to those things with a Characteristic and a Unit Type, anything lacking these details are can only be described as something other then Models.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2015/07/25 05:37:59


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Pain4Pleasure wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:


Actually you do not. The KFF gives all Models a save. The shield is not a model.


State the rule. If I create the shield on my model, is it therefore not a model, part of the model, therefore getting hit?


That would make it no more of a model than the power sword on my vet sgt, or the bolter on my tac marine.

The marine or guard vet sgt may be a model but his wargear is not a separate model.

To go even further with this i could use a grot orderly, which is an item of wargear oft represented with a separate "model" but never is a model in the unit, doesn't count for either coherency, nor blast/template hits, and cannot be harmed in any way(sure its rules specify all those things but that is truly because it is represented by a common-definition of a model)

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Pain4Pleasure wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:


Actually you do not. The KFF gives all Models a save. The shield is not a model.


State the rule. If I create the shield on my model, is it therefore not a model, part of the model, therefore getting hit?


The rule states that models get the save. The shield is not a model since it does not have a unit type...

"In addition to its characteristics profile, each model will have a unit type..." (Models and Units Chapter, Other Important Information section).

No unit type? then it is not a model.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Yes you would get the save. Here's why.

The powerfield (upgrade) states that when the stompa suffers a penetrating or glancing hit, instead of losing a hull point the power field is destroyed. When you have an invulnerable save you get a chance to block the penetrating or glancing hit. If you fail your save then you lose the power field because a hit was suffered. If the save is made 4++/5++ then you would not lose the power field because no damage was suffered.
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan




Homestead, FL

you take the save before you worry about the power field so you get the save because the powerfield is a part of the model and the model gets the save. pretty simple really

I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all

Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Ghazkuul wrote:
you take the save before you worry about the power field
That's not correct.
You take saves after you roll to pen.

You roll to pen against the shield, instead of against the Stompa.
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre



california

I have been, and will continue to play it as my invulnerable first, until someone can show me a good enough hardcore rule stating why this isn't correct instead of just "no this isn't right"
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Pain4Pleasure wrote:
I have been, and will continue to play it as my invulnerable first, until someone can show me a good enough hardcore rule stating why this isn't correct instead of just "no this isn't right"


It has been shown. The save is granted to models. Is the Power Field a model? No? Then it does not get the invulnerable save.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Happyjew wrote:
Pain4Pleasure wrote:
I have been, and will continue to play it as my invulnerable first, until someone can show me a good enough hardcore rule stating why this isn't correct instead of just "no this isn't right"


It has been shown. The save is granted to models. Is the Power Field a model? No? Then it does not get the invulnerable save.


100% this. The save is granted to models and the Power Field is not a model, as my quote above proves.

The Power Field does not get the invulnerable save.

Ergo, No, you can not take the KFF save for the Power Field.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan




Homestead, FL

 DeathReaper wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
Pain4Pleasure wrote:
I have been, and will continue to play it as my invulnerable first, until someone can show me a good enough hardcore rule stating why this isn't correct instead of just "no this isn't right"


It has been shown. The save is granted to models. Is the Power Field a model? No? Then it does not get the invulnerable save.


100% this. The save is granted to models and the Power Field is not a model, as my quote above proves.

The Power Field does not get the invulnerable save.

Ergo, No, you can not take the KFF save for the Power Field.


Except the Powerfield is part of the model. So you resolve the pen against the Power field got it, but the field is still a part of the model and the model still has a 5++ so therefore you still get your save. Show me an actual rule where that isnt true.

I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all

Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



New York, USA

As much as I would love for a KFF to protect a power field, it just doesn't look that way.
Invulnerable saves are different to armour saves because they may always be taken whenever the model suffers a Wound or, in the case of vehicles, suffers a penetrating or glancing hit….
Here's how I interpret the sequence of events:
  • Opponent chooses target.
  • Rolls to hit.
  • Persuant to the special rule Power Fields:
    Each hit scored against a Big Mek Stompa will instead hit a power field (whilst they remain).
    Thus, the shot has been allocated to a non-entity called "power field" with an AV of 12.
  • Opponent rolls armor penetration.
  • Each shot with an AP of 12+ will destroy a power field until they are gone. Subsequent shots hit the stompa.
  • Once the power fields are down, the "model" (ie. the stompa) starts being hit as opposed to the non-entity "power fields."
  • Since a model is now being hit, it can start receiving invulnerable saves from an outside source.
    Invulnerable saves are different to armour saves because they may always be taken whenever the model suffers a Wound or, in the case of vehicles, suffers a penetrating or glancing hit….
  • The MFF/KFF start to take over providing invulnerable saves.
    The bearer, and all models within 6", receive a 5+ invulnerable save against any shooting attacks.

  • My knee jerk reaction was that the MFF/KFF would encapsulate the stompa and it's accessories, but after some research it doesn't look so promising. Maybe in IA8 they'll clear it up a little.
    Doubtful, but we can dream.
       
    Made in us
    Captain of the Forlorn Hope





    Chicago, IL

     Ghazkuul wrote:
     DeathReaper wrote:
     Happyjew wrote:
    Pain4Pleasure wrote:
    I have been, and will continue to play it as my invulnerable first, until someone can show me a good enough hardcore rule stating why this isn't correct instead of just "no this isn't right"


    It has been shown. The save is granted to models. Is the Power Field a model? No? Then it does not get the invulnerable save.


    100% this. The save is granted to models and the Power Field is not a model, as my quote above proves.

    The Power Field does not get the invulnerable save.

    Ergo, No, you can not take the KFF save for the Power Field.


    Except the Powerfield is part of the model. So you resolve the pen against the Power field got it, but the field is still a part of the model and the model still has a 5++ so therefore you still get your save. Show me an actual rule where that isnt true.


    It does not matter if the Power Field is a part of the model, the Power Field is not a model itself, nor is it a vehicle... The model had a 5++, the shield does not. (Unless you have a rules quote that says the shield has a save).

    You are only allowed to take the KFF save if you are a model, since only models get the save...

    And we know only models get a save "The bearer, and all models within 6", receive a 5+ invulnerable save against any shooting attacks." (KFF rules).

    And Invulnerable saves only happen when a vehicle suffers a glancing/pen hit.

    "Invulnerable saves are different to armour saves because they may always be taken whenever the model suffers a Wound or, in the case of vehicles, suffers a penetrating or glancing hit…."

    So there are your rules that prove the shield does not get a save because the shield is not a vehicle that suffered a penetrating or glancing hit, nor is it a model to even receive a 5+ invulnerable save.

    This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/26 14:45:34


    "Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

    I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

    We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
     
       
    Made in us
    Fixture of Dakka




    Vanished Completely

    I am curious, using the logic that the Power Filed are allowed an Invulnerability Save as 'Special Rules are part of a Model,' what happens when we change Power Field to the most bizarre non-model entity out there... the Void Shield Projections?

    This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2015/07/26 15:56:42


    8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
       
    Made in us
    Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






    JinxDragon wrote:
    I am curious, using the logic that the Power Filed are allowed an Invulnerability Save as 'Special Rules are part of a Model,' what happens when we change Power Field to the most bizarre non-model entity out there... the Void Shield Projections?


    I was thinking of bringing up the same variation.

    Would the kff have to be in range of the unit protected, or the building profecting it?

    If it is in range of the unit, does the whole unit have to be in range(since kff is models in range and void shields are unit)?

    No, model is model; special rule from wargear is never model.

    This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
    Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



     
       
    Made in us
    Krazed Killa Kan




    Homestead, FL

     DeathReaper wrote:
     Ghazkuul wrote:
     DeathReaper wrote:
     Happyjew wrote:
    Pain4Pleasure wrote:
    I have been, and will continue to play it as my invulnerable first, until someone can show me a good enough hardcore rule stating why this isn't correct instead of just "no this isn't right"


    It has been shown. The save is granted to models. Is the Power Field a model? No? Then it does not get the invulnerable save.


    100% this. The save is granted to models and the Power Field is not a model, as my quote above proves.

    The Power Field does not get the invulnerable save.

    Ergo, No, you can not take the KFF save for the Power Field.


    Except the Powerfield is part of the model. So you resolve the pen against the Power field got it, but the field is still a part of the model and the model still has a 5++ so therefore you still get your save. Show me an actual rule where that isnt true.


    It does not matter if the Power Field is a part of the model, the Power Field is not a model itself, nor is it a vehicle... The model had a 5++, the shield does not. (Unless you have a rules quote that says the shield has a save).

    You are only allowed to take the KFF save if you are a model, since only models get the save...

    And we know only models get a save "The bearer, and all models within 6", receive a 5+ invulnerable save against any shooting attacks." (KFF rules).

    And Invulnerable saves only happen when a vehicle suffers a glancing/pen hit.

    "Invulnerable saves are different to armour saves because they may always be taken whenever the model suffers a Wound or, in the case of vehicles, suffers a penetrating or glancing hit…."

    So there are your rules that prove the shield does not get a save because the shield is not a vehicle that suffered a penetrating or glancing hit, nor is it a model to even receive a 5+ invulnerable save.


    and yet you can't show me any actual rule that says you can't take the save. The Power field is a part of the model and gets the save because your not shooting at a power field your shooting at a model that has a power field. I don't own a model with power fields but if I did that is how I would play it because it makes complete sense. Its basically two protective layers wrapped around one another.

    So continue to say the same thing over and over again but until GW tells us otherwise I would take the 5++ save before the shield gets hit.

    I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all

    Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders 
       
    Made in us
    Powerful Phoenix Lord





    Buffalo, NY

     Ghazkuul wrote:
    and yet you can't show me any actual rule that says you can't take the save. The Power field is a part of the model and gets the save because your not shooting at a power field your shooting at a model that has a power field. I don't own a model with power fields but if I did that is how I would play it because it makes complete sense. Its basically two protective layers wrapped around one another.

    So continue to say the same thing over and over again but until GW tells us otherwise I would take the 5++ save before the shield gets hit.


    Simple question. Is the Power FIeld a model or a special rule?

    Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
    Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
    Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
       
    Made in us
    Fixture of Dakka




    Vanished Completely

    Ghazkuul,
    Why are we required to show a Rule forbidding Special Rules from taking take saves, instead of you providing us with a Rule showing that Special Rules are allowed Saves?

    8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
       
    Made in us
    Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






    Yet again i am in agreement with jinx; we have shown what is defined as a model, wargear and special rules provided by a model are not under that definition: so the onus is on anyone else the prove that the special rule does get protected since there is no current permission(in this permissive ruleset)

    This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
    Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



     
       
    Made in hk
    Regular Dakkanaut




    Hong Kong

    Compare with other similar situations.

    The void shield generator has the same rule I think.
    When shooting boys protected by a VSG , does the hit on the shield got a save ?

       
    Made in us
    Captain of the Forlorn Hope





    Chicago, IL

     Ghazkuul wrote:



    and yet you can't show me any actual rule that says you can't take the save...


    The rules don't say I can't place my models back on the board after you've killed them and use them next turn, but that doesn't mean I can do it.

    The rules system is permissive: this means you may only do things you are expressly allowed to do. You are not allowed to do anything else.



    This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/28 00:41:43


    "Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

    I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

    We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
     
       
     
    Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
    Go to: