Switch Theme:

How many Support Weapons can I have in a Vaul's Wrath Support Battery in a Guardian Battlehost?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Newbie Black Templar Neophyte




Redditch, Worcestershire, UK

Ok so I sense this might be going over something already discussed at length and I've read two other threads relating to the Canoptek Spyder but I feel they are different arguments.

I'm taking a Craftworld Warhost which has a Guardian Battlehost. The formation RAW state that it must contain 1 "Farseer", 3 'units' of "Guardian Defenders", 1 "Vyper Squadron", 1 'unit' of "War Walkers", 1 "Vaul's Wrath Support Battery" and 0-1 "Warlock Conclave".

This, I take to mean, I can take literally 1 Farseer (datasheet only allows 1), 3 units of Guardian Defenders, 1 Vyper Squadron (datasheet says I can have 1-6 Vypers), 1 unit of War Walkers (datasheet says I can have 1-3 War Walkers) and 1 Vaul's Wrath Support Battery (datasheet says I can have 1-3 support weapons as part of one 'battery').

Word "Squadron" refers to a singular entity like a "team" or a "unit". Each of these can have multiple members. "units" is used before Guardian Defenders and War Walkers because the datasheet and unit name are a plural anyway. Farseer and Vaul's Wrath Support Battery are both singular entities anyway so do not require the 'unit'. Each of these may still contain multiple members. It's an English language question, not a rules question really.

Does anyone disagree with my assessment above? If so, can you provide a rule or FAQ that states otherwise?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/07/25 11:44:52


JJ - WH40K: Imperial Fists - WHFB: Warriors of Chaos - BFG: Imperial Navy & Eldar
"After all, I don't play to win, I play to die in the name of the Emperor." Chris Peach
Gaming @ Redditch Tabletop Gamers - Redditch, Worcestershire, UK 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

You're allowed a Vaul's Wrath Support Battery.

A battery in the context of artillery is a group of artillery pieces, so in this case a Vaul's Wrath Support Battery is effectively a Vaul's Wrath group of support weapons.

So yeah, you're allowed to fill out the unit per its options.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: