Switch Theme:

Question on Bray-Shaman's 'Savage Dominion' spell  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

First, the rule in question:

Savage Dominion
The shaman sends his mind winging into the wilds and possesses the largest creature he can find and bend to his will. Savage Dominion has a casting value of 9. If successfully cast, you can summon one MONSTER and add it to your army. Set up the summoned model within 6" of the edge of the battlefield and more than 9" from any enemy models. This counts as its move for the upcoming movement phase.

So what can I summon with this spell? Can I summon a Cockatrice? Galrauch? Daemon Prince? Keeper of Secrets? Chaos Lord on Manticore?, Kroq-Gar on Carnosaur? Nagash? Each of these have the 'MONSTER' keyword on their Warscrolls. Am I missing something, or is this one of those rules?

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Thermo-Optical Hac Tao





Gosport, UK

It says monster, so I'd assume anything with the monster keyword.
   
Made in gb
Tough Treekin




 ImAGeek wrote:
It says monster, so I'd assume anything with the monster keyword.

Looks like a duck, quacks like a duck...
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Ghaz wrote:
First, the rule in question:

Savage Dominion
The shaman sends his mind winging into the wilds and possesses the largest creature he can find and bend to his will. Savage Dominion has a casting value of 9. If successfully cast, you can summon one MONSTER and add it to your army. Set up the summoned model within 6" of the edge of the battlefield and more than 9" from any enemy models. This counts as its move for the upcoming movement phase.

So what can I summon with this spell? Can I summon a Cockatrice? Galrauch? Daemon Prince? Keeper of Secrets? Chaos Lord on Manticore?, Kroq-Gar on Carnosaur? Nagash? Each of these have the 'MONSTER' keyword on their Warscrolls. Am I missing something, or is this one of those rules?

Yeup. So add Karl Franz to the list, Kairos Fateweaver, Stegadons, etc, to the list. The Monster doesn't even have to be something with a Summon rule or even CHAOS.

However, your friends may mind when a Chaos Beast summons their lord on a gryphon to face their cannons...

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Hunter with Harpoon Laucher




Castle Clarkenstein

RAW - Anything with a monster keyword, regardless of having a hero on top of it or from another faction You own the model, plop it on down. Same as the rest of AOS.

How I'd play it personally: Something that has the monster keyword, and no crew since it's in the wilds.

But its a pretty wide open spell.

....and lo!.....The Age of Sigmar came to an end when Saint Veetock and his hamster legions smote the false Sigmar and destroyed the bubbleverse and lead the true believers back to the Old World.
 
   
 
Forum Index » Warhammer: Age of Sigmar
Go to: