Switch Theme:

FMC and rolling for powers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Beast of Nurgle





Do FMC come in swooping when summoned via something like Possession?

When you are rolling for psychic powers do you have to declare how many spells you are trying to learn from each discipline or do you roll on the table until you get what you want and then able to switch to another discipline?

Daemons get the primaris for their alignment automatically; does that mean if I take another discipline they get the primaris for that too since I am only really rolling from that table?

Can you source this for me too? Thanks!

"I shall reap a terrible bounty from the death that I sow in your name, Father Nurgle..." 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The conjuration rules state specifically that they Deep Strike and are counted as having come from reserves. So they must count as swooping

You can roll one die at a time, as nothing states you must do otherwise.
   
Made in ca
Twisting Tzeentch Horror




Canada

Primaris is normally free if all powers come from a single source.

Chaos powers only require you to take a single power to gain it.

Thus you are no longer eligible for another free primaris.

When rolling for powers declare which tree it is for, once you roll then you can pick to either take the primaris or the power you rolled. You can pick from any tree it says they are eligible for.

The answers for that are clear in the Chaos codex and the brb.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
The conjuration rules state specifically that they Deep Strike and are counted as having come from reserves. So they must count as swooping

You can roll one die at a time, as nothing states you must do otherwise.


Doesn't really say deep strike reserves and this is a hotly debated subject.

Your better off summoning a demon prince without wings so you can avoid the debate and actually get to use the damn thing before the game ends.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/12 14:01:12


3000 Points Tzeentch 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Konrax wrote:

nosferatu1001 wrote:
The conjuration rules state specifically that they Deep Strike and are counted as having come from reserves. So they must count as swooping

You can roll one die at a time, as nothing states you must do otherwise.


Doesn't really say deep strike reserves and this is a hotly debated subject.

Your better off summoning a demon prince without wings so you can avoid the debate and actually get to use the damn thing before the game ends.

That issue is only for Khorne Daemonkin summoning. Malefic summoning is what nosferatu is referring to and is clear (and you can't summmong a DP through conjurations)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/12 14:16:56


 
   
Made in ca
Twisting Tzeentch Horror




Canada

 CrownAxe wrote:
 Konrax wrote:

nosferatu1001 wrote:
The conjuration rules state specifically that they Deep Strike and are counted as having come from reserves. So they must count as swooping

You can roll one die at a time, as nothing states you must do otherwise.


Doesn't really say deep strike reserves and this is a hotly debated subject.

Your better off summoning a demon prince without wings so you can avoid the debate and actually get to use the damn thing before the game ends.

That issue is only for Khorne Daemonkin summoning. Malefic summoning is what nosferatu is referring to and is clear (and you can't summmong a DP through conjurations)


My apologies I thought he was for kdk

3000 Points Tzeentch 
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






 ViPER wrote:
Do FMC come in swooping when summoned via something like Possession?

When you are rolling for psychic powers do you have to declare how many spells you are trying to learn from each discipline or do you roll on the table until you get what you want and then able to switch to another discipline?

Daemons get the primaris for their alignment automatically; does that mean if I take another discipline they get the primaris for that too since I am only really rolling from that table?

Can you source this for me too? Thanks!


Yes any FMC that you bring on using Conjuration powers is Swooping because they are treated as coming from Reserves.

To generate powers you roll one die at a time nominating which discipline you're rolling on first. If your psyker has more than one ML you can choose to generate your subsequent powers from the same or a different discipline depending on whether you got a decent power/the one you were hoping for.

If you generate all your powers from one discipline e.g. Biomancy then you get the Primaris for free through Psychic Focus. You also automatically know the Primaris from their patrons discipline through Chaos Focus. This is a point of contention for some however; in practice it's not usually a big deal but it's probably best to discuss with your opponent beforehand. Essentially the interpretations boil down to whether you consider automatically knows = generate or not. Just be aware that whichever way you play it has implications for marked CSM sorcerers and their powers.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: