Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/12 14:21:01
Subject: Does the Autarchs ability work when he is in reserves?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I seem to recall it working so at one time, and the rule doesn't look different, but I want to make sure.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/12 14:26:02
Subject: Does the Autarchs ability work when he is in reserves?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
There is no general requirement for models to be on the table to use their special rules. Some special rules just don't work while off the table but I believe the Autarch's rule is not one of them
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/12 20:01:59
Subject: Does the Autarchs ability work when he is in reserves?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Model has to be on the table and deployed to use any abilities he may have or confer.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/12 20:05:15
Subject: Does the Autarchs ability work when he is in reserves?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
So a Deep Striking or Outflanking unit has to be on the table in order to Deep Strike or Outflank?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/12 20:13:33
Subject: Does the Autarchs ability work when he is in reserves?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Do you have a Rule quote showing the general permission to use a Special Rule can only be applied to Models that are on the Table? Also consider the existence of Special Rules designed to change how a List is constructed, those that modify how we determine who deploys first, many that modify how a Unit Arrives from Reserves, and anything else I have failed to recall off the top of my head. These Rules would all require a clause stating they have permission to be used even though the Model itself is not yet on the table. As no such permission has been written into any of these Rules, such an interpretation would render every single one of these Rules impossible to actually use.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/12 20:14:53
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/12 20:14:12
Subject: Does the Autarchs ability work when he is in reserves?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:
So a Deep Striking or Outflanking unit has to be on the table in order to Deep Strike or Outflank?
Thats a twist of my words. To deepstrike or outflank you cant be deployed.
You cannot use psychic powers or benefit from other psykers warp charges when they arent deployed, you cannot benefit from undeployed models with confering rules or abilties
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/12 20:19:32
Subject: Does the Autarchs ability work when he is in reserves?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Rules that require the Model to be on the Table, by specifically stating that fact, are evidence to the exact opposite of what you are stating. Please provide the actual Rule quote that restricts permission to use Special Rules to those Models already on the table.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/08/12 20:25:14
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/12 20:27:56
Subject: Does the Autarchs ability work when he is in reserves?
|
 |
The Hammer of Witches
A new day, a new time zone.
|
die toten hosen wrote: Happyjew wrote:
So a Deep Striking or Outflanking unit has to be on the table in order to Deep Strike or Outflank?
Thats a twist of my words. To deepstrike or outflank you cant be deployed.
You cannot use psychic powers or benefit from other psykers warp charges when they arent deployed, you cannot benefit from undeployed models with confering rules or abilties
Incorrect. Models that must be on the table for their abilities to function typically say so in the rule description. Certainly, you cannot reasonably argue rules that state, 'so long as model X is alive,' or 'if your army includes model X' stop working if the model hasn't entered play yet.
|
"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..." Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/12 20:34:45
Subject: Does the Autarchs ability work when he is in reserves?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Point conceded untill i can get to my rulebook.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/12 20:37:06
Subject: Does the Autarchs ability work when he is in reserves?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Personally, I hope you do find a Rule that I have over-looked after several debates on this very topic. 'Broken by Rules as Written' situations make me laugh, and if a whole bunch of Special Rules suddenly break it would be a great chuckle.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/12 20:37:51
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/12 20:39:54
Subject: Does the Autarchs ability work when he is in reserves?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
It's says in his rules that "as long as he's part of your army" so that means yes, even if he's in reserve you can still use his special rule
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/13 00:34:59
Subject: Does the Autarchs ability work when he is in reserves?
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
Yep, whether he is on the table, off the table, alive or dead, the rule is in effect. There is nothing in the rulebook that ever states a model stops being a part of your army under any circumstance.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/13 13:17:29
Subject: Does the Autarchs ability work when he is in reserves?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Minneapolis, MN
|
The Autarch's rule works regardless if he's on the table or not.
To give a some other examples: Tigurius also has a reserve roll manipulation rule, which uses the same wording as the Autarch's. Captain Sicarius's has a similar reserve roll manipulation special rule, but it specifically states that he has to be on the battlefield. Why would Sicarius's rule specify that? Because models have a general permission to use special rules whether they're on the battlefield or in reserves, and for fluff reasons the game designers wanted to require Sicarius's model to be physically present on the battlefield to use his rule (leading his troops from the front, as Sicarius does, in contrast to those sneaky librarians).
Incidentally, Sicarius's rule also specifies that he has to be alive... which implies that the Autarch and Tigurius rules works whether they're dead or alive. That's a little silly, and maybe not RAI.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/08/13 13:22:00
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/13 13:18:59
Subject: Re:Does the Autarchs ability work when he is in reserves?
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
PA Unitied States
|
to OP....YES 100%
|
22 yrs in the hobby
:Eldar: 10K+ pts, 2500 pts
1850 pts
Vampire Counts 4000+ |
|
 |
 |
|