Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/14 00:53:41
Subject: Kairos Reroll
|
 |
Beast of Nurgle
|
Can Kairos Fateweaver use his Reroll if he is in reserves? Source to back up please.
Thanks!
|
"I shall reap a terrible bounty from the death that I sow in your name, Father Nurgle..." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/14 01:38:25
Subject: Kairos Reroll
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Nothing to suggest he could not per RAW that I can see.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/14 06:34:27
Subject: Kairos Reroll
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Can someone quote the Rule which grants Models permission to use Special Rules at all? It might seem silly, given how often Special Rules are mentioned throughout the book, but I would like a single Rule I can just quote whenever this question arises. It is very likely that permission comes from the Rules repetitively telling us that Special Rules can modify X or that they have the ability to do Y, showing they are always evocable as long as they modify X or have the ability to do Y. Regardless if there is a single Rule granting permission, or it is granted by many Rules that I do not want to have to quote every time, it is obvious that Models have permission to use their Special Rules. Without a Rule restricting this use to specific time-periods, there is nothing restricting when a Special Rule can be evoked. So the question becomes: Is there a Rule requiring Kairos to be on the table for this specific Special Rule to function?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/08/14 06:44:41
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/14 06:42:11
Subject: Kairos Reroll
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
JinxDragon wrote:So the question becomes:
Is there a Rule requiring Kairos to be on the table for this specific Special Rule to function?
Not that I found in searching through the electronic version of the rulebook for the term "special rule".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/14 13:14:29
Subject: Kairos Reroll
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Minneapolis, MN
|
Maybe in the introductory section of the Special Rules sections, under "What Special Rules Do I Have?". It lists the various ways in which a model may gain a special rule - in the case of Fateweaver, he gains it through his Army List Entry (or Dataslate, if we follow the current lingo). That's not exactly a general permission to use rules, but I dunno...
A number of the special rules work in conjunction with reserves - outflank, acute senses, deep strike - and none are given explicit permission to work while the model is sitting in reserves, not on the table. For example, Acute Senses allows you to re-roll Outflank results; the entire effect of the rule triggers and is completely resolved while the model is sitting in reserves. If models don't have a general permission to use special rules while in reserves, then they would never have the opportunity to use things like Acute Senses.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/14 13:15:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/14 13:42:47
Subject: Kairos Reroll
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Special Rules works if the model is On the Table, On reserves or on Ongoing Reserves (Unless stated Otherwise)
For Example (With Tyranids since that is what I know most for playing them), the special rule for the Deathleaper "It's After Me" specifies that "At the start of the game nominate a Character, it gets -1D3 to it's Ld, WHILE DEATHLEAPER IS ON THE BOARD". On the Other Hand, a Mawloc with Regeneration, that suffered a wound and Burrow to go to Ongoing Reserves, It can still make the Regeneration roll at the end of that turn (Same a Flyrant Flying off the table). Since Regeneration says "If the model Hasn't been removed AS CASUALTY". So, being removed from the table to put it in Ongoing Reserves is not removing it as casualty. And models in Ongoing Reserves are still models in play. (Except if the games ends, only at that moment they are counted as casualties). Automatically Appended Next Post: What brings confusion to using rules while in Reserves, is that a unit/model in reserves is out of range of Everything, can't move, draw line of sight, shoot, generate psychic powers, etc. And so, most of the Rules are usless unless the unit/model is on the table.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/08/14 13:49:04
|
|
 |
 |
|