Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/14 22:27:03
Subject: Occupying buildings and LoS
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
We came across an interesting scenario today.
If an occupiable building is between 12 and 18 inches away from an enemy unit which has line of sight to the building, can an infiltrating unit deploy within the building?
I mean technically the unit is drawing LoS to the building and it's impossible for it to draw LoS to the infiltrators.
|
You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/14 23:16:33
Subject: Occupying buildings and LoS
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Pretty easy answer from 'Line of Sight' in the General Principles section of the rulebook:
"For one model to have line of sight to another, you must be able to trace a straight, unblocked line from its body (the head, torso, arms or legs) to any part of the target’s body."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/15 02:40:07
Subject: Occupying buildings and LoS
|
 |
Shrieking Traitor Sentinel Pilot
|
In the building means that enemies cannot draw line of sight to them. Same as in a transport.
On battlements would be different though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/15 07:50:28
Subject: Occupying buildings and LoS
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
A claimed building is a unit in the controlling player’s army
- Claiming buildings
You cannot deploy less than 18" if building "see" you. Just like vehicle.
Edit: You mean the other way...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/15 07:52:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/15 07:56:50
Subject: Re:Occupying buildings and LoS
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
How about I quote part of the Infiltrate rule and see if that affects anyone's decision / interpretation: Infiltrate, page 167 wrote:Infiltrators can be set up anywhere on the table {...} This includes in a building (pg 110), as long as the building is more than 12" from an enemy unit.
Seems a pretty clear indication to me that they can.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/15 08:00:53
Subject: Re:Occupying buildings and LoS
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
[i]Infiltrators can be set up anywhere on the table that is more than 12" from any enemy unit, as long as no
deployed enemy unit can draw line of sight to them. This includes in a building, as long as the building is
more than 12" from any enemy unit. "
- Infiltrate
Answer is in the rule
Quanar ninja
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/15 08:45:31
Subject: Occupying buildings and LoS
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Danyboy, At the start of the game,all buildings that were taken as part of a player’s army are ‘claimed’ by the owning player, whilst all other buildings are ‘unclaimed’. -Claimed Buildings Even if the Building is purchased, certain conditions have to be met before it is 'Claimed' and becomes a Unit in any Army. There could be quite a lot of debate over 'when does the Game begin' in and of itself, as the Rulebook doesn't actually define exactly when this moment is. There are vague hints that it might be during Deployment, as we know 'before the Game' abilities are resolved prior to any Model hitting the Table. However, there is also evidence that Models have to be Deployed before the Game begins as several Rules have 'Start the Game' or 'Begin the Game' instructions that relate to Models already being Deployed or being placed into Reserves. Interestingly, Sequencing inform us how to deal with simultaneous Rules that have 'Start of Turn' and 'Before the Game' timings but nothing about how to deal with multiple 'Start of Game' timings.... Meaningless here though, nothing suggests the Building in question was purchased and purchased buildings are unlikely to be more then 12 inches away from another Unit during Deployment.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/15 08:46:21
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/15 08:56:52
Subject: Occupying buildings and LoS
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Jinx. Answer to OP question is in the infiltrate special rule.
To answer your statement the same rule you quoted states:
If a unit enters a building, they immediately capture and claim that building
So if infiltrators enter the building the building immediately become claimed. So it immediately become unit in his army.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/15 08:59:43
Subject: Occupying buildings and LoS
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
While that is the other condition for when a Building can become claimed, I was addressing this post of yours: danyboy wrote: A claimed building is a unit in the controlling player’s army - Claiming buildings You cannot deploy less than 18" if building "see" you. Just like vehicle. Edit: You mean the other way...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/15 09:01:12
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/15 09:05:59
Subject: Occupying buildings and LoS
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Yes sorry. Now I know and you are right of course.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|