Switch Theme:

Detachments and formations clarification  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Imperial Recruit in Training





Hi all,

If you take a detachment, say a flesh tearers strike force, and then a formation such as the vanguard demi company, do the special rules from the detachment (ie explosion of bloodlust) apply to the formations?

Thanks in advance!

Best kill yet: 5x Pathfinders, 1 turn, killed a full health bloodthirster
 
   
Made in gb
Dispassionate Imperial Judge






HATE Club, East London

The Flesh Tearers Strike Force is a Detachment using a FOC, and it's rules apply to everything in that Detachment. The Formation is a separate Detachment, and it's own rules apply.

The only way a detachment's rules can apply to formations is when you're taking one of the newer Mixed Detachments. Detachments like the Gladius Strike Force from Codex Space Marines is a detachment made up of a mix of individual units and Formations, so in that case the Formations within it DO benefit from the rules of the Gladius.

Here's an infographic I made to try and explain everything - the FTSF is a 'Faction-specific FOC' -
Spoiler:

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/08/17 10:33:20


   
Made in gb
Imperial Recruit in Training





Thanks for this clear reply! Much appreciated

Best kill yet: 5x Pathfinders, 1 turn, killed a full health bloodthirster
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: