Switch Theme:

Psyker (witchfire) shooting at transports, w/ squad targeting troops spilling out?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




It is definitely written all over the place that the same unit cannot fire shooting weapons against a transport (say, with a targetlock) and have the same unit shoot the models that spill out from the vehicle, on the same turn.

But psykers are able to target different units than the shooting phase that follows, even that the unit can assault a different target too. In fact, psykers can target as many different units as they want w/o restrictions.

So does the witchfire rules get around this ruling, which would normally prevent transports and occupants from being fired upon by the same unit in the same turn? (OR FROM BEING IMMEDIATELY ASSAULTED?!)


Tytyty,
   
Made in us
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus





Yes, you can target the transport with the Witchfire in the psychic phase, and if you wreck the transport, you can shoot the guys inside it in the Shooting Phase.

Since they're separate phases

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/19 01:04:07


3000
4000 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Targeting a unit with a Witchfire psychic power doesn't bind the Psyker's unit to targeting the same unit in the subsequent Shooting phase.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Wow.

Living lightning just got so much more potent!
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Um as to your last all caps line: you can always assault the unit you just shot out of their transport(as in killed the transport forcing them out) with the same unit that popped the tranny. Well so long as you are still allowed to assault(didn't fire heavy, rapid fire, salvo, or ordnance weapons)

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




The vehicle is considered a different unit, therefore typically you cannot fire at unit A (vehicle) and assault unit B (troops)
   
Made in ca
Unhealthy Competition With Other Legions




Toronto, Ontario

No, it specifically states in the rule book that if you destroy/wreck a transport in the shooting phase, you can charge the formerly embarked troops in the following assault phase.

"He's doing the Lord's work. And by 'Lord' I mean Lord of Skulls." -Kenny Boucher

Prepare yourselves for the onslaught men. The enemy is waiting, but your Officers are courageous and your bayonettes sharp! I have at my disposal an entire army of Muskokans, tens of thousands of armour and artillery supporting millions upon tens of millions of the Imperium's finest fighting men with courage in their bellies, fire in their hearts and lasguns in their hands. Emperor show mercy to mine enemies, for as sure as the Imperium is vast, I will not!
- General Robert Thurgood of the Emperor's Own Lasguns before the landings at Traitor's Folly at the onset of the Chrislea's Road Campaign

"Pride goeth before the fall... to Slaanesh"
- ///name stricken///, former 'Emperor's Champion' 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

MekLeN wrote:
The vehicle is considered a different unit, therefore typically you cannot fire at unit A (vehicle) and assault unit B (troops)

Unless there is a specific exception in the rules, as there is in the case of transports and the embarked squad (Effects of Damage on Passengers, last sentence).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/08/19 01:50:31


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ca
Unhealthy Competition With Other Legions




Toronto, Ontario

Pg 83.

If a transport is destroyed by a shooting attack, any unit that shot at it this turn can, if allowed, charge the now disembarked pasangers.

"He's doing the Lord's work. And by 'Lord' I mean Lord of Skulls." -Kenny Boucher

Prepare yourselves for the onslaught men. The enemy is waiting, but your Officers are courageous and your bayonettes sharp! I have at my disposal an entire army of Muskokans, tens of thousands of armour and artillery supporting millions upon tens of millions of the Imperium's finest fighting men with courage in their bellies, fire in their hearts and lasguns in their hands. Emperor show mercy to mine enemies, for as sure as the Imperium is vast, I will not!
- General Robert Thurgood of the Emperor's Own Lasguns before the landings at Traitor's Folly at the onset of the Chrislea's Road Campaign

"Pride goeth before the fall... to Slaanesh"
- ///name stricken///, former 'Emperor's Champion' 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Woa!

My bad!

*shakes the older edition rules out of ears*
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




and by old rules, 4th edition and before, from memory...
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Yeah, it was 5th that added the allowance to assault the disembarked unit.

 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Even as far back as 3rd.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I'll admit to being a bit embarrassed ...

But definitely shows the misinformation and errors midst the 40k community. I put decent time into reading and strategy online, and well... this goes to show how valuable this forum is.

I appreciate the positive support, and patient effort invested here on dakkadakka.

The -best- forum for 40k on Earth!
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Stick around. Read a few threads. Become disenchanted. Or thrive in the bitterness!

Welcome to YMDC.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

Try to keep an open mind . A rules lawyer must first convince you a rule does not work before you will buy into how they want to modify it.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: