| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/20 13:10:59
Subject: Shokk attack gun mishap-am I doing it right?
|
 |
Ancient Ultramarine Venerable Dreadnought
|
So, last Sunday, I played a game of 40k 7th (Orks VS Nids). Here is how the 3 HQ Units died.
Badrukk: Got 3 Gets Hot! Rolls on Da Rippa, fails 2 armour saves.
Weirdboy: Gets killed by Genestealers and does not get to cast a psychic power the whole game.
Big Mek With Shokk Attack Gun: rolls double on strength (4,4). Rolls 3 times on mishap table (6,3) (4,2) (1,1). Gun explodes and mek dies.
My Question is, do you have to keep rolling on the SAG mishap table until I get a double or (5,6)?
Thanks for your help.
|
INSANE army lists still available!!!! Now being written in 8th edition format! I have Index Imperium 1, Index Imperium 2, Index Xenos 2, Codex Orks Codex Tyranids, Codex Blood Angels and Codex Space Marines!
PM me for an INSANE (100K+ points) if you desire.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/20 13:38:03
Subject: Shokk attack gun mishap-am I doing it right?
|
 |
Ultramarine Master with Gauntlets of Macragge
What's left of Cadia
|
Are you sure you roll on the mishap table 3 times? I may be mis-reading what you posted, but I'm fairly certain you only have to roll on the mishap table once
|
TheEyeOfNight- I swear, this thread is 70% smack talk, 20% RP organization, and 10% butt jokes
TheEyeOfNight- "Ordo Xenos reports that the Necrons have attained democracy, kamikaze tendencies, and nuclear fission. It's all tits up, sir."
Space Marine flyers are shaped for the greatest possible air resistance so that the air may never defeat the SPACE MARINES!
Sternguard though, those guys are all about kicking ass. They'd chew bubble gum as well, but bubble gum is heretical. Only tau chew gum
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/20 13:45:22
Subject: Shokk attack gun mishap-am I doing it right?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Why did you roll three times? All result 4,4 is is "sploosh"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/20 14:26:52
Subject: Shokk attack gun mishap-am I doing it right?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
For the Shokk Attack Gun, the result of the strength roll determines the result. If you roll a double when rolling for the strength of the gun, consult the table listed for the result and apply THAT result.
So if you rolled 4+4, the strength of the shot is 8, but you get the mishap result of (4,4). You do not roll any additional times.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/20 14:46:25
Subject: Shokk attack gun mishap-am I doing it right?
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
I was confused about this too when I started. Like yarium said, when you roll doubles for the gun's strength (or 11), you first consult the table to see what happens, and if the table doesn't list a given strength value, you use the strength you rolled with the 2D6.
No matter what, though, you only roll once per shot, and you only use the table if you roll doubles or 5+6.
So, if you roll double 1s, your big mek just dies. No shot is fired.
Double 2s, when you consult the table it doesn't give any corrected strength value, so it's a str 4 shot, large blast, but placed by your opponent (big mek still fires, so it's still BS2).
Double 3s - (recalling from old book, so forgive rules mistakes) - Still large blast, and strength 6 (3+3), but resolve against nearest unit to your intended target, friend or foe.
Double 4s - Instead of being str 8, the table says to change the attack to small blast, str 6, ap6.
Double 5s - No shot is fired at all, and the big mek counts as charging the target unit.
5 + 6 = large blast, str 10, but only models under the small hole in the large blast are hit.
double 6s - large blast, vortex special rule.
|
"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/20 16:34:41
Subject: Shokk attack gun mishap-am I doing it right?
|
 |
Ancient Ultramarine Venerable Dreadnought
|
OK, I was doing it wrong. thanks.
|
INSANE army lists still available!!!! Now being written in 8th edition format! I have Index Imperium 1, Index Imperium 2, Index Xenos 2, Codex Orks Codex Tyranids, Codex Blood Angels and Codex Space Marines!
PM me for an INSANE (100K+ points) if you desire.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/30 00:47:26
Subject: Shokk attack gun mishap-am I doing it right?
|
 |
Ancient Ultramarine Venerable Dreadnought
|
My ranking on the shokk attack gun mishap table.
(1,1) Bad [mek is removed]
(2,2) Bad (mostly) [could be placed on the Ork side]
(3,3) 50-50, a bit of both [see (2,2)]
(4,4) Bad (kind of) [unlikely you will wound units with good Armour saves]
(5,5) Bad [mek is fired and leaves snotlings in place]
(5,6) Bad (kind of) [only the model under template hole is hit]
(6,6) Awesome Sauce [becomes destroyer weapon]
What you think?
|
INSANE army lists still available!!!! Now being written in 8th edition format! I have Index Imperium 1, Index Imperium 2, Index Xenos 2, Codex Orks Codex Tyranids, Codex Blood Angels and Codex Space Marines!
PM me for an INSANE (100K+ points) if you desire.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/30 02:20:06
Subject: Re:Shokk attack gun mishap-am I doing it right?
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Going to just add my question here since it's relevant and happened.
On a Double 6, it becomes a 'Vortex'. Do we move the template at the start of each player turn, or each game turn?
How we played it:
I hit the unit and got a 6,6. We placed the template, and resolved the shot. We placed a marker under the center hole of the template.
Start of my opponents Turn, we rolled the scatter die and got 1,1, so it collapses.
Did we play it right? Or should I have waited till my next turn to do that?
|
Current Armies
40k: 15k of Unplayable Necrons
(I miss 7th!)
30k: Imperial Fists
(project for 2025)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/30 02:32:22
Subject: Shokk attack gun mishap-am I doing it right?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
At the beginning of every subsequent player turn...
- Vortex
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|