Switch Theme:

Swooping Hawks Intercept  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




Murrieta, CA

If a squad of swooping hawks deepstrikes next to a flyer's base, but physically under the wing (which is considered part of the vehicles hull), can they use intercept to plant grenades on the aircraft?

Space Marines (Anything but BA or GK): 6k
Tau: 3k

-Thaylen 
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre



california

No. The rule specifically states the base must be passed over.
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Pain4Pleasure wrote:
No. The rule specifically states the base must be passed over.
Nay? No mention of "base" in my Codex. But indeed, they have not "moved over" (DS counts as movement, but there's no actual distance moved), the vehicle, no Intercept.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Quanar,
Deep Strike as movement has always been debated, ending in no consensus every time it is brought up.

So some will state nothing has been 'moved over' due to a 0 inch movement distance
Others will state nothing has been 'moved over' as the Models deployed during Deep Strike

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/08/23 16:28:17


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
World-Weary Pathfinder




Another argument is just like you could argue they came in from above the flyer (as one might envision) someone can equally argue they swooped in below it. Since they just sorta materialize there with Deep Strike, there is no rules support. Movement in the Movement Phase specifically says jump units may move "Over" other units.

The rules really aren't designed for 3D combat. Which wasn't as big a deal until fliers became a thing. Unfortunately, making rules for aerial combat could be incredibly complex to visualize/account for. Heck, why do Swooping Hawks ever land? One could make a case they should be units of flying monstrous creatures...sorta. *shrug*
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






JinxDragon wrote:
Quanar,
Deep Strike as movement has always been debated, ending in no consensus every time it is brought up.

So some will state nothing has been 'moved over' due to a 0 inch movement distance
Others will state nothing has been 'moved over' as the Models deployed during Deep Strike


This case should have consensus.

You yourself just posted the reasons.

0" deepstrike "movement", and "only counts as moved but not actually moved" still leads to neither "moved over". So no matter which side of the deepstrike movement debate you are on you never move over any models while deepstrikeing.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in ca
Swift Swooping Hawk





Someone posted this exact questrion a few weeks ago. The answer is "No".

The Swooping Hawk's attack is more akin to a Vector Strike where they really need to go over the model.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Kommissar Kal,
This case is most likely going to be a consensus, but I was commenting on the whole 'deep strike is movement' debate that extends far further then this one question.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: