Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/30 23:03:28
Subject: How far can you disembark from a Chaos Kharybdis Assault Claw? (Forgeworld email reply inside)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Northridge, CA
|
Title.
The rules for this are very, very weird. There is one access hatch beneath the hull, normal for a chaos drop pod. However, unlike the Dreadclaw which clearly states in inches how far you can disembark from it, the Kharbdis only says you disembark at ground level, measuring disembarkation from the ground level of the main hull. Like, what?
So you get a six inch disembarkation from the center of the access hatch (essentially the center of the model at ground level) or six inches from the hull itself or two inches like the previous drop pod or what?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/09/03 20:02:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/31 00:10:30
Subject: Re:How far can you disembark from a Chaos Kharybdis Assault Claw?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Is it open-topped? If so, any point on the hull can be used as an access point.
The rules for disembarkation have changed since the original Dreadclaw was made by FW, and it is now 6" by default instead of 2" (5th? edition?). If the Kharybdis doesn't mention a change in the distance, then it is fully within 6".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/31 00:50:59
Subject: Re:How far can you disembark from a Chaos Kharybdis Assault Claw?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Northridge, CA
|
It is not opened topped and has only one access point directly below it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/31 01:06:26
Subject: Re:How far can you disembark from a Chaos Kharybdis Assault Claw?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Am I correct in thinking it's a Flyer? A look at some images of one show it using a flyer base occasionally - a Flyer also counts it's base as an access point, although this is an issue if you've modeled it as landed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/31 02:06:37
Subject: Re:How far can you disembark from a Chaos Kharybdis Assault Claw?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Northridge, CA
|
Flyer, Transport, Hover. It's be sweet if I could get six inches from the base but since the hatch is below my question is do I have to measure from the hatch or the hull?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/08/31 05:12:19
Subject: How far can you disembark from a Chaos Kharybdis Assault Claw?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Transports on flying bases also count the base as an Access Point. - Access Points If mounted on a flying base then the base itself is an Access Point, so we have full permission to measure from the Base Without the 'open topped' Rule, or a similar Rule, we must measure from an Access Point and thus can not measure from the Hull Thus a Rule telling us measuring their disembarkation from the ground level of the main hull grants permission to do what?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/09/03 22:13:59
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/03 20:02:05
Subject: Re:How far can you disembark from a Chaos Kharybdis Assault Claw?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Northridge, CA
|
Just an update, emailed Forgeworld about the wording in their book.
REPLY:
So that makes deploying from the Assault Claw insanely good, IMO.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/03 20:05:57
Subject: How far can you disembark from a Chaos Kharybdis Assault Claw? (Forgeworld email reply inside)
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Did you not read JinxDragon's post?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/04 04:12:40
Subject: How far can you disembark from a Chaos Kharybdis Assault Claw? (Forgeworld email reply inside)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It has inertial guidance which is really good.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/04 04:24:15
Subject: How far can you disembark from a Chaos Kharybdis Assault Claw? (Forgeworld email reply inside)
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
In the same way you may wish to decide whether the opened doors of a drop pod count as part of the hull for disembarkation or other purposes, I suggest discussing with your opponent (assuming the kharybdis is not mounting on a flyer stand) whether the sort of claw sections that extend further out count as part of the hull for disembarkation purposes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/04 04:35:15
Subject: How far can you disembark from a Chaos Kharybdis Assault Claw? (Forgeworld email reply inside)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You can't deploy off the doors as there aren't any.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/04 04:43:11
Subject: How far can you disembark from a Chaos Kharybdis Assault Claw? (Forgeworld email reply inside)
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Have you read the thread (or the rules), or are you just contributing random nothings? The rules say:
"One access hatch beneath the hull. In practice, passengers can disembark at ground level, measuring their disembarkation from the ground level of the main hull."
|
|
 |
 |
|