| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 20100/10/19 01:47:58
Subject: Order of Operations
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Greetings guys, I was just going over the new starter set and had an interesting strategy pop into my head. I was wondering if it would actually work, so I checked the new rulebook for the order of operations rules. For example, if two different card effects happen at the same time, the active player chooses which one to resolve first, or something along those lines. Is there a ruling for this sort of thing? I skimmed both rulebooks and couldn't find anything about it.
My idea is as follows:
Poe Dameron (T-70)
- Weapon Guidance
So, when performing my attack, I have a focus token, and may change a focus result to an hit (via Poe's ability), so I resolve that first. Then, after that, I have Weapon Guidance. I may spend a focus to change a blank result into a hit. Could I, in fact, use both of these as the way I'm thinking? Or if I spend a focus at all, his effect wouldn't activate because there's no such ruling for order of operations?
|
40k:
8th Edtion: 9405 pts - Varantekh Dynasty |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 00:56:39
Subject: Order of Operations
|
 |
Colonel
This Is Where the Fish Lives
|
krodarklorr wrote:So I checked the new rulebook for the order of operations rules. For example, if two different card effects happen at the same time, the active player chooses which one to resolve first, or something along those lines. Is there a ruling for this sort of thing? I skimmed both rulebooks and couldn't find anything about it.
Yes, it has always been like that. It is not in the original core rule book from 2012, but it is in the FAQ (section five, page 15).
My idea is as follows:
Poe Dameron (T-70)
- Weapon Guidance
So, when performing my attack, I have a focus token, and may change a focus result to an hit (via Poe's ability), so I resolve that first. Then, after that, I have Weapon Guidance. I may spend a focus to change a blank result into a hit. Could I, in fact, use both of these as the way I'm thinking? Or if I spend a focus at all, his effect wouldn't activate because there's no such ruling for order of operations?
Yes, it works that way because Poe's ability doesn't require you to spend your focus token, just to have one assigned to your ship. You could also use a token generated by Esege or if Kyle Katarn passes you one with his ability.
However, I'm not personally sold on Weapon Guidance for Poe... I see where it could work, but I prefer to have that focus token to use his ability defensively since you can use it every time you're attacked. Then, you could give him R5-P9 and use that focus token to regenerate a shield. My current prefered Poe build is: Poe + Push the Limit + BB-8 + Autothrusters. With BB-8, you can reveal a green maneuver, perform a free barrel roll, PtL for another action, gain a stress token, execute you maneuver, clear your stress, perform a third action. If you had a reliable way to have access to a second focus token, I could see using Weapon Guidance with all those other goodies.
|
d-usa wrote:"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 01:32:13
Subject: Order of Operations
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Bathing in elitist French expats fumes
|
I'm not privy to the new starter, but how do you get to execute a second maneuver after receiving the stress token in the same activation phase?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 03:40:26
Subject: Order of Operations
|
 |
Colonel
This Is Where the Fish Lives
|
Mathieu Raymond wrote:I'm not privy to the new starter, but how do you get to execute a second maneuver after receiving the stress token in the same activation phase?
You're only executing one maneuver.
BB-8 allows you to perform a free barrel roll when you reveal a green maneuver, meaning you perform the action before you move. When Poe (or whomever has BB-8 riding with them) activates, you turn over your dial to show a green maneuver. Now you perform a free barrel roll. After you do that, your can trigger Push the Limit to perform another action, then receive a stress token. Now you can execute the green maneuver you revealed, clearing your stress. After you finish executing the maneuver, perform your third action to complete your activation.
|
d-usa wrote:"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 04:05:16
Subject: Order of Operations
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
|
ScootyPuffJunior wrote:
However, I'm not personally sold on Weapon Guidance for Poe... I see where it could work, but I prefer to have that focus token to use his ability defensively since you can use it every time you're attacked. Then, you could give him R5-P9 and use that focus token to regenerate a shield. My current prefered Poe build is: Poe + Push the Limit + BB-8 + Autothrusters. With BB-8, you can reveal a green maneuver, perform a free barrel roll, PtL for another action, gain a stress token, execute you maneuver, clear your stress, perform a third action. If you had a reliable way to have access to a second focus token, I could see using Weapon Guidance with all those other goodies.
For now, I think weapons guidance is definitely a viable option for Poe, just because there are times where converting a blank is worth it, but I expect that other tech upgrades will displace it.
|
Q: What do you call a Dinosaur Handpuppet?
A: A Maniraptor |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 04:26:25
Subject: Order of Operations
|
 |
Colonel
This Is Where the Fish Lives
|
Crazy_Carnifex wrote: ScootyPuffJunior wrote:
However, I'm not personally sold on Weapon Guidance for Poe... I see where it could work, but I prefer to have that focus token to use his ability defensively since you can use it every time you're attacked. Then, you could give him R5-P9 and use that focus token to regenerate a shield. My current prefered Poe build is: Poe + Push the Limit + BB-8 + Autothrusters. With BB-8, you can reveal a green maneuver, perform a free barrel roll, PtL for another action, gain a stress token, execute you maneuver, clear your stress, perform a third action. If you had a reliable way to have access to a second focus token, I could see using Weapon Guidance with all those other goodies.
For now, I think weapons guidance is definitely a viable option for Poe, just because there are times where converting a blank is worth it, but I expect that other tech upgrades will displace it.
I agree that it's viable, mainly because it's the only Tech option he currently has access to. I'm not saying I wouldn't include it, I just wouldn't build a list with it being an auto-include for Poe. If the points are there, I would take it.
In fact, this what I am going to try out this week:
Poe Dameron (31)
Push the Limit (3)
BB-8 (2)
Weapons Guidance (2)
Autothrusters (2)
Kyle Katarn (21)
Veteran Instincts (1)
Twin Laser Turret (6)
Recon Specialist (3)
Moldy Crow (3)
Bandit Squadron Pilot (12)
Bandit Squadron Pilot (12)
Total: 98
View in Yet Another Squad Builder
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/08 04:27:59
d-usa wrote:"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 10:25:21
Subject: Order of Operations
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
ScootyPuffJunior wrote: krodarklorr wrote:So I checked the new rulebook for the order of operations rules. For example, if two different card effects happen at the same time, the active player chooses which one to resolve first, or something along those lines. Is there a ruling for this sort of thing? I skimmed both rulebooks and couldn't find anything about it.
Yes, it has always been like that. It is not in the original core rule book from 2012, but it is in the FAQ (section five, page 15).
My idea is as follows:
Poe Dameron (T-70)
- Weapon Guidance
So, when performing my attack, I have a focus token, and may change a focus result to an hit (via Poe's ability), so I resolve that first. Then, after that, I have Weapon Guidance. I may spend a focus to change a blank result into a hit. Could I, in fact, use both of these as the way I'm thinking? Or if I spend a focus at all, his effect wouldn't activate because there's no such ruling for order of operations?
Yes, it works that way because Poe's ability doesn't require you to spend your focus token, just to have one assigned to your ship. You could also use a token generated by Esege or if Kyle Katarn passes you one with his ability.
However, I'm not personally sold on Weapon Guidance for Poe... I see where it could work, but I prefer to have that focus token to use his ability defensively since you can use it every time you're attacked. Then, you could give him R5-P9 and use that focus token to regenerate a shield. My current prefered Poe build is: Poe + Push the Limit + BB-8 + Autothrusters. With BB-8, you can reveal a green maneuver, perform a free barrel roll, PtL for another action, gain a stress token, execute you maneuver, clear your stress, perform a third action. If you had a reliable way to have access to a second focus token, I could see using Weapon Guidance with all those other goodies.
I just figured that since Weapon Guidance is the only Tech upgrade at the moment, and it's only 2 points, it wouldn't hurt using it on him. Sure, you could use it defensively, but if you really need something dead, and you weren't able to/didn't target lock, it gives you options.
|
40k:
8th Edtion: 9405 pts - Varantekh Dynasty |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 12:28:04
Subject: Re:Order of Operations
|
 |
Speed Drybrushing
|
Is there only one card in the starter? Don't the tie fighters also have a tech slot?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 12:32:47
Subject: Re:Order of Operations
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
buckero0 wrote:Is there only one card in the starter? Don't the tie fighters also have a tech slot?
There is only 1 of each upgrade card in the new starter kit, even though the TIE/FOs have the slot too.
|
40k:
8th Edtion: 9405 pts - Varantekh Dynasty |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 14:20:35
Subject: Order of Operations
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
California
|
Doesn't PtL Activate during your action step, not on activation of the pilot? I am pretty sure that you can't PtL and immediately clear the stress...
|
"I aim to misbehave"
"I find your lack of faith, disturbing."
"There's too many of them..." *static*
Star Trek Attack Wing, Star Wars X-Wing, Star Wars Armada, Imperial Assault |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 14:36:54
Subject: Re:Order of Operations
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
|
krodarklorr wrote:buckero0 wrote:Is there only one card in the starter? Don't the tie fighters also have a tech slot?
There is only 1 of each upgrade card in the new starter kit, even though the TIE/FOs have the slot too.
Actually, There are 2 Astromech Droids.
Corpsman913 wrote:Doesn't PtL Activate during your action step, not on activation of the pilot? I am pretty sure that you can't PtL and immediately clear the stress...
You can. See Corran Horn+Advanced Sensors. Difference here is you don't lose your action phase.
|
Q: What do you call a Dinosaur Handpuppet?
A: A Maniraptor |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 14:45:15
Subject: Order of Operations
|
 |
Battleship Captain
|
Yup - if you get a free action at some other point in the turn you can use Push The Limit then - using it with Ysanne Isard (who gives you an evade action at the start of the combat phase) to allow a decimator to boost after soontir et al have moved is one of the nastier implications.
Weapons guidance is nice - as noted, primarily because the Rebels have plenty of ways of passing extra focus tokens around (Garven Dreis, Kyle Katarn, Esege Tukutu).
Not to mention that a T-70, especially with BB-8 in the astromech slot, is decent arc dodger - if you can end up out of arc of fire of your opponents, you don't need to hang on to the focus token and can use it to be pretty confident of 3+ hits - but only using a single focus token, rather than the target lock and focus token a normal pilot would need - which in turn means you can push the limit and use your additional action to boost and increase the fighter's mobility.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/08 14:45:55
Termagants expended for the Hive Mind: ~2835
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 16:13:50
Subject: Re:Order of Operations
|
 |
Colonel
This Is Where the Fish Lives
|
Crazy_Carnifex wrote:krodarklorr wrote:buckero0 wrote:Is there only one card in the starter? Don't the tie fighters also have a tech slot?
There is only 1 of each upgrade card in the new starter kit, even though the TIE/FOs have the slot too.
Actually, There are 2 Astromech Droids.
Yes, but there is only one of each droid. Five different cards, one of each.
|
d-usa wrote:"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 18:24:09
Subject: Order of Operations
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Bathing in elitist French expats fumes
|
ScootyPuffJunior wrote: Mathieu Raymond wrote:I'm not privy to the new starter, but how do you get to execute a second maneuver after receiving the stress token in the same activation phase?
You're only executing one maneuver.
BB-8 allows you to perform a free barrel roll when you reveal a green maneuver, meaning you perform the action before you move. When Poe (or whomever has BB-8 riding with them) activates, you turn over your dial to show a green maneuver. Now you perform a free barrel roll. After you do that, your can trigger Push the Limit to perform another action, then receive a stress token. Now you can execute the green maneuver you revealed, clearing your stress. After you finish executing the maneuver, perform your third action to complete your activation.
That is borderline shenanigans territory. I like it. So following the discussion after this post of yours, the free action from PtL can be done before the actual maneuver itself. Clever. I'd not have thought of it this way. Maybe because I am too literal.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 18:34:57
Subject: Order of Operations
|
 |
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body
|
It's been a thing with B-Wings + Adv Sensors (well, anything with a Sensor and EPT slot) for a while now, so this is different upgrades interacting, but essentially the same idea.
|
We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark
The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.
The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox
Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 19:01:28
Subject: Order of Operations
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Bathing in elitist French expats fumes
|
You'll have to forgive me, I've only been doing this for a little over 2 weeks.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/08 21:41:55
Subject: Order of Operations
|
 |
Colonel
This Is Where the Fish Lives
|
Mathieu Raymond wrote:That is borderline shenanigans territory. I like it. So following the discussion after this post of yours, the free action from PtL can be done before the actual maneuver itself. Clever. I'd not have thought of it this way. Maybe because I am too literal.
Performing any action with a ship that has Push the Limit can trigger it's effect no matter when in the turn it occurs (but it can only happen once, as per the Push the Limit card). It can allow you to do some pretty neat stuff too.
For instance, if you had this guy in your squad:
Along with this guy:
With this droid:
You could do four actions in a single turn (if you are in Range 1 of Cracken). You can reveal your green maneuver, perform your free barrel roll, Push the Limit to perform a Boost action, gain a stress token, execute your green maneuver, clear your stress token, take a Focus action. Now the Combat Phase begins and you elect to shoot with Cracken first, triggering his ability and allowing Poe to take a Target Lock action.
You have now completed four actions in one turn. It's probably not going to happen often, but the fact that it can is pretty sweet.
|
d-usa wrote:"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/11 00:14:24
Subject: Order of Operations
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Bathing in elitist French expats fumes
|
I want that new starter so bad...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/11 00:52:36
Subject: Order of Operations
|
 |
Ancient Chaos Terminator
|
Whoops wrong sub forum...
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/11 00:54:41
"I have traveled through the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|