| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/13 12:50:02
Subject: Dark Eldar and Covens use both PFP tables at the same time
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I think it's bs but someone is claiming you can put an IC from codex: DE in an Unit from the covens book (formations only) and they+their unit will benefit from both PFP tables at the same time. Example being a succubus in grots from a grotesquerie and saying they'll be using both tables. I tried negotiating with them but they're starting to get condescending. Please help figure this out.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/09/13 12:51:29
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/13 13:00:31
Subject: Dark Eldar and Covens use both PFP tables at the same time
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Sangreel wrote:I think it's bs but someone is claiming you can put an IC from codex: DE in an Unit from the covens book (formations only) and they+their unit will benefit from both PFP tables at the same time. Example being a succubus in grots from a grotesquerie and saying they'll be using both tables. I tried negotiating with them but they're starting to get condescending. Please help figure this out.
First of all, they need to show you what rule says you can use both. The reason for that is because the rules for Independent Characters say that they become part of the unit they join for all rules purposes.
They would use the table from the Covens book. The entire unit.
If you get the "it doesn't say I can't" excuse (it happens a lot in some places), remind them that it's a permissive rule set.
EDIT: Never mind. As Jim pointed out, it's model by model. I misremembered. My bad.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/13 19:26:32
If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/13 14:22:54
Subject: Re:Dark Eldar and Covens use both PFP tables at the same time
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
Power from Pain isn't per unit, it's per model.
So each model uses the PfP table appropriate to the book they were purchased from. The Succubus gains the benefits of the standard table, the grots get the coven table, and I don't believe any of the rules from either table are rules that transfer to the rest of a unit.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/13 14:24:20
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/13 15:11:04
Subject: Dark Eldar and Covens use both PFP tables at the same time
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Fearless does.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/13 15:11:31
Subject: Dark Eldar and Covens use both PFP tables at the same time
|
 |
Angered Reaver Arena Champion
Connah's Quay, North Wales
|
While the model gets its PFP table due to its detachment there are several rules that when applied to a model apply to the whole unit.
A good example is Zealot, which is a benefit of the Coven table and provides fearless and hatred, but Zealot is a rule that passes to the unit. So if a Haemonculus from the Covens joined a unit of Incubi, when the Haemonculus gets Zealot, so to do the Incubi until the Haemonculus dies.
Most rules don't pass across, such as IWND or Furious Charge, but some do.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/13 18:10:18
Subject: Dark Eldar and Covens use both PFP tables at the same time
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
There you go then. Good call, I hadn't thought of Fearless/Zealot. (Those are the only two, I believe?)
A Succubus in a unit of Coven grots will still get the benefit of the Fearless rule (although she will not actually have the rule herself).
Interestingly, Zealot does not confer Fearless anymore. It is now its own rule with the same wording. (Important in the case of Dark Eldar--a unit with Zealot is still susceptible to Soul Fright attacks!)
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/13 18:13:16
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/14 09:56:38
Subject: Dark Eldar and Covens use both PFP tables at the same time
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
That's really interesting, thank you. I misunderstood what was being conveyed but that makes sense. I think fear is another rule that gets conferred.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/14 12:15:50
Subject: Dark Eldar and Covens use both PFP tables at the same time
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
Sangreel wrote:That's really interesting, thank you. I misunderstood what was being conveyed but that makes sense. I think fear is another rule that gets conferred.
Hmm. You only need one model with Fear to require the test, so I can see looking at it that way.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|