Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/14 18:35:52
Subject: Super Heavy Explosion Template
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Howdy,
I was watching a game yesterday in which an Imperial Knight was destroyed by a daemon prince.
When the IK was destroyed, its player hovered the large blast template (representing the centre of the explosion, the str D part) over the far edge of the IK's base, the centre of the hole was still over the IK's base, but as a result the Daemon Prince was hit by the str D explosion.
I thought this was curious, so I read up on the 'Catastrophic Explosion' rule, which only says to 'centre the apocalyptic mega-blast marker over the location the destroyed model occupied', which implies to me that you're supposed to put the large blast marker in the centre of the vehicle destroyed.
Did the people playing just play the rule wrong, or is there another rule somewhere else that allows the controlling player to put the template anywhere they like on the base?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/14 18:42:38
Subject: Super Heavy Explosion Template
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Yes you can center the blast over any part of the model
But you also roll the scatter it
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/14 19:09:45
Subject: Super Heavy Explosion Template
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Dr. Delorean wrote:I thought this was curious, so I read up on the 'Catastrophic Explosion' rule, which only says to 'centre the apocalyptic mega-blast marker over the location the destroyed model occupied', which implies to me that you're supposed to put the large blast marker in the centre of the vehicle destroyed.
Did the destroyed Knight only occupy the very center of its base? Assuming the destroyed Knight occupied the entire area of its base, then its legal to place the center of the blast marker anywhere over the base.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/14 19:11:05
Subject: Super Heavy Explosion Template
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
If you place it off-centre, have you centred it? Or gave you merely endured the centre of the template is over the model?
If you claim the two are equivalent I'm curious if there is a rule for this?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/15 04:06:00
Subject: Super Heavy Explosion Template
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Ghaz wrote: Dr. Delorean wrote:I thought this was curious, so I read up on the 'Catastrophic Explosion' rule, which only says to 'centre the apocalyptic mega-blast marker over the location the destroyed model occupied', which implies to me that you're supposed to put the large blast marker in the centre of the vehicle destroyed.
Did the destroyed Knight only occupy the very center of its base? Assuming the destroyed Knight occupied the entire area of its base, then its legal to place the center of the blast marker anywhere over the base.
I would suggest that this runs against the direction to "centre" the blast over the model. You're obeying the rules for Blast weapons in the rulebook by placing it anywhere on the base, but the Catastrophic Explosion rule doesn't actually refer to using the Blast rules, even if it utilizes a blast template.
nosferatu1001 wrote:If you place it off-centre, have you centred it? Or gave you merely endured the centre of the template is over the model?
If you claim the two are equivalent I'm curious if there is a rule for this?
Basically this; is there a rule somewhere else in the book that allows you to put the blast template anywhere on the base?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/15 04:30:15
Subject: Super Heavy Explosion Template
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
It says "centre the blast" not "centre the model"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/15 05:29:42
Subject: Re:Super Heavy Explosion Template
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
I've always understood 'center the blast' to mean 'place the center of the marker over the approximate center of the model,' not 'place the center of the marker over any part of the model's base.'
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/15 05:53:26
Subject: Super Heavy Explosion Template
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
That would be centring the marker over the centre of the location the destroyed model occupied, rather than centring the marker over the location the destroyed model occupied.
I think it's probably "gamier" to shift the marker somewhere other than the actual centre of the location the destroyed model occupied and that it seems to make more sense to centre it over the centre of that location, but I'm not sure it's against what the rules actually say.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/15 20:28:19
Subject: Super Heavy Explosion Template
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
CATASTROPHIC DAMAGE
Immediately after a Super-heavy vehicle loses its last Hull Point, it suffers Catastrophic Damage and explodes. Instead of the usual procedure for exploding vehicles, remove the model and centre the apocalyptic mega-blast marker over the location the destroyed model occupied; then roll for scatter (this represents the vehicle tipping over or skidding out of control before exploding).
Per the rules, the center of the blast marker is placed over the center of where the model was when it exploded. It's not the same as placing a blast marker on a target, in this case it's has to be centered before rolling for scatter.
Btw, this was a pretty big issue when the FW Knights first came out, as the Lancer was shown to be placed on its base across the short axis rather than the codex Knights which are placed along the long axis. Players noted that if the blast doesn't scatter, no one gets hit be the D portion. This was quickly followed by the Ork players LoL'ing, because their Stompas are so big, almost no one gets hits be the blast if it doesn't scatter.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/15 20:53:42
Subject: Super Heavy Explosion Template
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
The definition of centre (verb) is "to place in the middle"
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
|