Switch Theme:

Mandatory infiltrate?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Frenzied Berserker Terminator





Canada

Been seeing this pop up lately and after a read through of the rules I can't find any evidence to support it. Some people think that having the Infiltrate usr means you must use it and cannot deploy normally.

I just can't see where the rules say you must use infiltrate if you have it, so can someone fill me in here please? How do you use Outflank as granted by Infiltrate if you MUST use infiltrate?



Gets along better with animals... Go figure. 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






You must deploy after both sides have deployed, there is no ambiguity in the infiltrate rule as far as that goes.

Does this mean you cannot deploy within your own deployment zone? No, of course not, you just don't do that during normal deployment, you do it while deploying infiltrators.


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Emboldened Warlock




Widnes UK

Infiltrate: Units that contain at least one model with this special rule deploy last, after all other units (friend and foe) have been deployed...


The rule doesn't say can deploy it just says that they do it, so you have to infiltrate. You can always just infiltrate into your own deployment zone though, although you can never charge on your first turn with these units.

Ulthwe: 7500 points 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 darkcloak wrote:
Been seeing this pop up lately and after a read through of the rules I can't find any evidence to support it. Some people think that having the Infiltrate usr means you must use it and cannot deploy normally.

I just can't see where the rules say you must use infiltrate if you have it, so can someone fill me in here please?

"Units that contain at least one model with this special rule are deployed last, after all other units (friend and foe) have been deployed. If both sides have Infiltrators, the players roll-off and the winner decides who goes first, then alternate deploying these units." -Infiltrate Special Rule

Do you see the option of choice present in this paragraph when deploying a unit with Infiltrate?

How do you use Outflank as granted by Infiltrate if you MUST use infiltrate?

You don't deploy them and put them in Reserves. Simple.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in ca
Frenzied Berserker Terminator





Canada

That's not the whole rule though. It also goes on to say that if you have a unit of Infiltrators in a DT then you may choose to infiltrate them inside their DT.

See since there is no strict "must deploy as per this special rule" I don't see the stance. Especially since the rest of the rule implies that you may choose not to use it.

At any rate I'm not planning some super space marines scout shenanigans or anything, I just saw this question a few times and consulted my book. I couldn't find any reason why Infiltrators MUST deploy last yada yada, so just wondering why it seems mandatory. There is also the caveat provided by Outflank in that you do not have to choose to infiltrate in that instance either.

Two examples within the rule itself that lead me to believe using Infiltrate is optional. Is there an instance where optional infiltrate would be game breaking when choosing not to infiltrate?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
A case where again is the word Infiltrators referring to the unit itself, as in "these Scouts are Infiltrators" or is it referring to a unit making use of the special rule. "These Scouts are infiltrating and are therefore..."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/17 07:26:55




Gets along better with animals... Go figure. 
   
Made in gb
Emboldened Warlock




Widnes UK

Yes you can infiltrate them in the transport or you can infiltrate them not in it, they are still infiltrating.
There is no statement saying "must deploy as per this rule" because you can choose to not deploy and walk on from your table edge or outflank and saying must would prohibit this. It is basically saying that if they are being deployed, this is how it works for these units.

Ulthwe: 7500 points 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 darkcloak wrote:
See since there is no strict "must deploy as per this special rule" I don't see the stance. Especially since the rest of the rule implies that you may choose not to use it.


Stating they deploy last makes it a mandatory statement; the choice allowance to deploy in their dedicated transport must be taken in the context of the "dedicated transport" wording and does not override the statement of how they deploy.

I couldn't find any reason why Infiltrators MUST deploy last yada yada, so just wondering why it seems mandatory. There is also the caveat provided by Outflank in that you do not have to choose to infiltrate in that instance either.


You mean aside from where it states they deploy last?

Even when using Outflank there unit are still infiltrators.

A case where again is the word Infiltrators referring to the unit itself, as in "these Scouts are Infiltrators" or is it referring to a unit making use of the special rule. "These Scouts are infiltrating and are therefore..."


The Infiltrate wording refers to "infiltrators held back as reserves" or similar; if they are only infiltrators if they're not held back in reserves then this wording would make no sense, therefore it must be that units with at least one model with the Infiltrate special rule are infiltrators.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: