Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/16 18:25:15
Subject: Grav wepaons- grav amp dosent work the way it's worded
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I've talked about this before on a different thread and didn't get a real answer, hopefully someone can tell me. Under grav-amp rules I dosent say re-roll failed to wound rolls. It says you may re-roll the result. Every other weapon in the game that can re-roll to wound specifically states "re-roll failed to wound rolls" so how does grav-amps work.? If someone can quote a rule that says they re-roll failed to wound rolls that would be superb
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/16 18:29:45
Subject: Grav wepaons- grav amp dosent work the way it's worded
|
 |
Imperial Guard Landspeeder Pilot
On moon miranda.
|
When the rulebook is talking about having to reroll everything on a reroll, they're talking about things like Ld tests that are taken on mulutple dice (e.g. a 2d6 roll). A grav amp doesn't mean you have to reroll everything.
In every instance in the rulebook where the word "result" is used, it's in reference to the outcome of a single roll (even if with multiple dice, e.g. 2d6), not the collective outcomes of multiple different rolls.
The Grav Amp rule says you can reroll the result "when rolling to wound". Note that "result" is singular, and is not using the plural "results". Each "to-wound" roll has it's own result.
Now, additionally, what this means is that the Grav-Amp can also reroll successful to-wound rolls if it doesn't want to wipe something out completely for some reason.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/16 18:32:05
IRON WITHIN, IRON WITHOUT.
New Heavy Gear Log! Also...Grey Knights!
The correct pronunciation is Imperial Guard and Stormtroopers, "Astra Militarum" and "Tempestus Scions" are something you'll find at Hogwarts. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/16 18:45:31
Subject: Re:Grav wepaons- grav amp dosent work the way it's worded
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
california
|
We answered you. Your thought process is wrong. You refill the fails only.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/16 19:00:18
Subject: Grav wepaons- grav amp dosent work the way it's worded
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Also consider that when Grav Hits a Vehicle, it doesn't do a To-Wound or Armour Penetration roll. The Grav-amp's phrasing is taking that in to consideration.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/16 21:46:31
Subject: Grav wepaons- grav amp dosent work the way it's worded
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Yes the Grav amp allows you to reroll successes if you choose hence the lack of "fail" wording so if you would wipe a squad you wanted to charge you could reroll some successes to reduce casualties.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/16 21:51:39
Subject: Grav wepaons- grav amp dosent work the way it's worded
|
 |
Stalwart Space Marine
Toronto, ON
|
Interesting to note that we can re-roll successful wounds. That's a tantalizing freedom.
|
5000+ pts 2000+ pts DS:80S+GMB++IPw40k091+D+A++/mWD-R+++T(T)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/16 22:18:20
Subject: Grav wepaons- grav amp dosent work the way it's worded
|
 |
The Last Chancer Who Survived
|
Yeah, the wording is to account for Grav's odd wounding roll system. Looking at it as Black Templars, being able to leave a unit with just one or two models in it can be exceedingly helpful. Possibly 10" free movement helpful.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/16 22:23:42
|
|
 |
 |
|