Switch Theme:

Immobilised Helldrake and Daemonic Possession - Is my opponent cheating?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm




North East, UK

So earlier on I was playing a 2K battle against Chaos. My Stormraven 'Skyfired' his Helldrake causing 2 wounds which Immobilised his Flyer.

Now according to the rules, if a Zooming flyer suffers an 'Immobilised' it is to roll a D6, on a 3+ it counts as Crew Stunned Instead.

HOWEVER

This Chaos vehicle has a rule 'Daemonic Possession' (THIS IS WHERE WE ARE CONFUSED) ...the rule as written is:

"BS3: Ignore Crew Shaken and Crew Stunned on a 2+, but embarked units are still affected."

First, what does the 'BS3' mean in that sentence? Does this mean that the Helldrake can only shoot but not moved following the Crew Stunned?

Secondly, does this mean that after I have pulled off a Skyfire, the flyer then gets a 3+ to ignore Immobilised followed by a 2+ if it's Chaos to survive?

Please clarify what the outcome of the Immobilised/Crew Stunned results are against this flyer.

Thanks


   
Made in se
Glorious Lord of Chaos






The burning pits of Hades, also known as Sweden in summer

If it becomes Immobilised, it works just like always. Roll a dice, on a 3+ it becomes Stunned instead.

If it does become Stunned, whether through a normal damage roll or a transferred Immobilised, you roll a dice. On a 2+, the Heldrake ignores the result and may move and shoot as normal on the next turn, though it obviously loses the hull point as usual. If it rolls an 1, it suffers the effects of Stunned on a flyer as described in the rulebook.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/16 23:35:04


Currently ongoing projects:
Horus Heresy Alpha Legion
Tyranids  
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






The rules mean that a zooming flyer can never actually be immobilised. So if you get that result on the damage table it counts as either crash and burn or crew stunned (the dice roll decides this).

Now because a heldrake has daemonic possession it can then ignore the crew stunned effect on a roll of a 2+.

The BS3 means that the model fires at BS3 because of daemonic possession. This is in the rule because daemonic possession is an optional upgrade for some chaos tanks which normally have BS4. The heldrake has daemonic possession as standard though so the BS3 is already just listed as part of its profile.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 RedEyeJedi wrote:
This Chaos vehicle has a rule 'Daemonic Possession' (THIS IS WHERE WE ARE CONFUSED) ...the rule as written is:

"BS3: Ignore Crew Shaken and Crew Stunned on a 2+, but embarked units are still affected."

First, what does the 'BS3' mean in that sentence? Does this mean that the Helldrake can only shoot but not moved following the Crew Stunned?

Actually it says the following:

"The vehicle's Ballistic Skill is reduced to 3. It ignores the effects of Crew Shaken and Crew Stunned results on a roll of 2+. Embarked units are still affected by these results."

I'm presuming you were using a Battlescribe printout or somesuch instead of a codex?

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm




North East, UK

 Ghaz wrote:
 RedEyeJedi wrote:
This Chaos vehicle has a rule 'Daemonic Possession' (THIS IS WHERE WE ARE CONFUSED) ...the rule as written is:

"BS3: Ignore Crew Shaken and Crew Stunned on a 2+, but embarked units are still affected."

First, what does the 'BS3' mean in that sentence? Does this mean that the Helldrake can only shoot but not moved following the Crew Stunned?

Actually it says the following:

"The vehicle's Ballistic Skill is reduced to 3. It ignores the effects of Crew Shaken and Crew Stunned results on a roll of 2+. Embarked units are still affected by these results."

I'm presuming you were using a Battlescribe printout or somesuch instead of a codex?


What I quoted was a direct quote from the Codex, without the following part about the Embarking/Disembarking.

Well, it seems he was right! I didn't believe it would be that hard to get one out of the sky, but I know for next time. Thanks guys!
   
Made in au
Liche Priest Hierophant







Just remember, it still suffers the Hullpoint loss.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 RedEyeJedi wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
 RedEyeJedi wrote:
This Chaos vehicle has a rule 'Daemonic Possession' (THIS IS WHERE WE ARE CONFUSED) ...the rule as written is:

"BS3: Ignore Crew Shaken and Crew Stunned on a 2+, but embarked units are still affected."

First, what does the 'BS3' mean in that sentence? Does this mean that the Helldrake can only shoot but not moved following the Crew Stunned?

Actually it says the following:

"The vehicle's Ballistic Skill is reduced to 3. It ignores the effects of Crew Shaken and Crew Stunned results on a roll of 2+. Embarked units are still affected by these results."

I'm presuming you were using a Battlescribe printout or somesuch instead of a codex?


What I quoted was a direct quote from the Codex, without the following part about the Embarking/Disembarking.

Well, it seems he was right! I didn't believe it would be that hard to get one out of the sky, but I know for next time. Thanks guys!

Then why does it differ from what I quoted directly from the codex? Were you quoting from print, ePub or Apple version?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/17 00:35:09


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm




North East, UK

   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

So in other words, you just looked at the Reference in the back of the book instead of the actual rules on page 68.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
The Last Chancer Who Survived




United Kingdom

I lawl'd.

The reference sheets are all shorthand. If the don't make sense, go to the actual page. They're just reminders.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: