Switch Theme:

Modifying rolls, not modifying results. Thoughts?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block






I'm wondering what the community's thoughts are regarding the rolling mechanics in AoS.

I'll use a straight forward example of the liberator with a shield in a wood. Liberators reroll saves rolls of 1. Cover adds one to your save roll, not
1 to your armour. This means if you roll a 1 and you add 1 for cover you'll end up at a roll result of 2. You can never have a roll result of a one and thus never reroll 1s in a wood correct?

I think it seems obvious once it is pointed out. And since things call out rolls of 6 or more it's both RAW and RAI in my opinion.

Side note, I'm calling it out for part of my argument why I believe rolls of one do not always fail.

I actually really like this mechanic but was wondering what you guys thought and if you play it that way.

 
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





The rules don't say that ones always fail.

And page 1 of the rules: "re-rolls happen before modifiers to the roll (if any) are applied".
   
Made in gb
Tough Treekin




Snapshot wrote:
The rules don't say that ones always fail.

And page 1 of the rules: "re-rolls happen before modifiers to the roll (if any) are applied".

^^This. There's no concept of natural dice rolls being special in AoS.
But your broad thinking is correct that you modify the roll, not the required result, and this applies when determining other trigger effects too.
Another example, the Grey Wizard spell causes a -1 to hit penalty on a unit.
Forest Goblin Spiders hit on a 4+, but cause mortal wounds on a 6+. Cast the spell on the spider riders, they can no longer cause mortal wounds - no matter how many sixes they roll.

(Incidentally, this needed to go in the You Make Da Call forum as it's a rules query.)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/20 09:09:52


 
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

A roll of one is a roll of one. If modified to two it is a roll of one modified to a final result of two.

I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
 
Forum Index » Warhammer: Age of Sigmar
Go to: