Switch Theme:

Dangerous Terrain vs Vehicles with Invulns  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor





St. Louis, Missouri USA

This came up in a recent game.

My SoB Exorcist was within a ruins area terrain. I needed to pivot a bit, and slide over a couple inches. Dangerous terrain test. Rolled a 1. I literally said the following, "Dangerous, Shmangerous. The Emperor protects." Then immediately rolled a 6 for its Shielf of Faith 6+ invuln. I proceeded to move the tank. My opponent then states, "you saved the HP loss, but not the immobilized result". Dumbfounded, I didn't protest because the shop was closing soon, it was turn 5, and had zero impact on the game.

So after digging thru the rules involved, I still have no idea how that should be played. But my gut tells me the save saves both the HP and Immobilized result.

Rules Involved:
Vehicles are not slowed down by difficult terrain. However, they treat all difficult terrain as dangerous terrain instead. A vehicle that fails a Dangerous Terrain test immediately loses one Hull Point and suffers an Immobilised result from the Vehicle Damage table.

6 - Immobilised. Other vehicles are Immobilised. An Immobilised vehicle cannot move – it may not even pivot, but its turrets may continue to rotate to select targets, and other weapons retain their normal arcs of fire. Any Immobilised results suffered by an already Immobilised vehicle instead remove an additional Hull Point.

Dangerous Terrain Tests
To take a Dangerous Terrain test, roll a D6. On a result of a 1, that model suffers a Wound. The model may take an armour or invulnerable save, but not a cover save, against this Wound. Once a model has taken a Dangerous Terrain test for a particular scenery model, it does not test for that terrain again in the same phase. However, if the model moves into a different area of dangerous terrain, this must be tested for as normal.

Thoughts?

 
   
Made in us
Stabbin' Skarboy




Pittsburgh

I would think an invul could be taken, but I am not certain. If you can take an invul save I would definitely say it applies to the damage and immobilization. I'll have to look when I have my book on me.

My Armies:
Orks about 15000-16000 mostly unpainted but slowly being worked on
Militarum Tempestus about 2000 points just built
Inquisition about 2000 points unpainted
Officio Assassinorum 570 unpainted
I dont paint quickly 
   
Made in ca
Twisting Tzeentch Horror




Canada

It would get the save

3000 Points Tzeentch 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

A vehicle that fails a Dangerous Terrain test immediately loses one Hull Point and suffers an Immobilised result from the Vehicle Damage table.
- Difficult and Dangerous Terrain, Vehicles

Because it does not mention this being a Penetrating/Glancing Hit, which is normally what triggers the Invulnerability Save, I am curious if the Save can be taken at all.
Can someone pass me the Rule I am over looking?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/22 19:10:54


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in ca
Stalwart Space Marine




Toronto, ON

JinxDragon wrote:
A vehicle that fails a Dangerous Terrain test immediately loses one Hull Point and suffers an Immobilised result from the Vehicle Damage table.
- Difficult and Dangerous Terrain, Vehicles

Because it does not mention this being a Penetrating/Glancing Hit, which is normally what triggers the Invulnerability Save, I am curious if the Save can be taken at all.
Can someone pass me the Rule I am over looking?


This is my line of thinking. I don't think vehicles get saves from dangerous terrain. If the wording said 'suffers a glancing hit' I would say yes, but it doesn't. The wording says loses a hull point.

5000+ pts 2000+ pts DS:80S+GMB++IPw40k091+D+A++/mWD-R+++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






JinxDragon wrote:
A vehicle that fails a Dangerous Terrain test immediately loses one Hull Point and suffers an Immobilised result from the Vehicle Damage table.
- Difficult and Dangerous Terrain, Vehicles

Because it does not mention this being a Penetrating/Glancing Hit, which is normally what triggers the Invulnerability Save, I am curious if the Save can be taken at all.
Can someone pass me the Rule I am over looking?
I also thought this initially, and the only counter-argument I could find against it is:
Dangerous Terrain Tests
To take a Dangerous Terrain test, roll a D6. On a result of a 1, that model suffers a Wound. The model may take an armour or invulnerable save, but not a cover save, against this Wound.
Now, obviously this is the section that deals with a dangerous terrain test on a non-vehicle model. It is, at best, a parallel example, and HIWPI is that the save would be allowed to be taken (and prevents the Immobilized), but it's not strict RAW (as only glancing / penetrating hits can be saved against, p37). It's similar to the argument you don't get the save against Grav weapons, but I'm sure that changed in 7th, however my brain is failing me on that one. Ah, found it - p77, but it only really covers (unintentional pun) Cover Saves, and not Invulns. Another parallel example that doesn't really help...
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor





St. Louis, Missouri USA

Before you jump me for referencing an outdated FAQ, but in 6th, GW explicitly FAQd DE Venoms to be able to use their 5+ with dangerous terrain tests, which is why I've been taking them on SoB tanks since then without a single protest.

My main purpose of the discussion: my opponent wasn't saying I couldn't roll for the save, but that the save only stops the HP loss and not the Immob result, which I always viewed it as a package deal.

 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 deviantduck wrote:
Before you jump me for referencing an outdated FAQ, but in 6th, GW explicitly FAQd DE Venoms to be able to use their 5+ with dangerous terrain tests, which is why I've been taking them on SoB tanks since then without a single protest.

My main purpose of the discussion: my opponent wasn't saying I couldn't roll for the save, but that the save only stops the HP loss and not the Immob result, which I always viewed it as a package deal.

Well upon closer inspection it looks like you don't get to take the save at all
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Quanar,
I fear this is another example of a piss poor 'Hack and Paste' job done by Game Workshop as they are using the same Vehicle Rules from 6th Edition...
Including the same lack of Rules explaining how Vehicles make Saves, outside of Cover Saves, that caused those Frequently Asked Questions in the first place.

Think of the problem like this:
Can you Quote the sentence that informs us what to do when we Pass an Invulnerability Save on a Vehicle?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/22 21:46:40


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





No save because you are not given permission to take a save on a vehicle. Models with wounds however do have permission because it is listed.
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

So, Jinx, do you think the most reasonable interpretation is that vehicles can take their Invulnerable saves, or that they cannot?

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





In 7th ed where do you see permission to take a save in the paragraph you referenced about vehicles and dangerous terrain? That is your answer, if you want to play it your way discuss with your opponent.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Given that I consider it a technical error, existing only because someone used an editing tool that never should ever be use on a document of this nature....
At least the Head Banging spot on the Wall is getting some use today, I honestly thought they would have fixed this one given the Errata within 6th.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/22 22:08:07


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: