Switch Theme:

Two rules questions about Tervigons and Termagants  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife






1) A few hypotheticals... Let's say I have a Tervigon and two squads of 12 Termagants in an Incubator Node. I roll 3d6 to birth Termagants and happen to roll a 15. Does this mean that I can only bring 12 to the table as I can only bring one unit? Or can I bring all 15 to the table and have one unit of 12 and one unit of 3? If so, are the remaining units of the second squad discarded, or can I roll to bring them in? Also, since units have to stay within a certain distance of each other, if I advance the three Termagants but not the Tervigon and decide to roll to see if I can bring the second set in, can I bring those 9 into the game even if they aren't close enough to their unit per the rules? I don't think Termagants have something like Combat Squads, so I don't know if they can split units into two equal sized units if needed.

2) This question is about the roll of the dice itself. The Incubator node forces rerolls of all dice results of 1. Very advantageous as you can bring in more gants that way. But, how do the exhaustion rules work... on the first roll or final roll? If I roll snakeyes on (disregarding the third die), but I'm allowed to reroll results of 1, does that mean that I can reroll those dice and hope not to get doubles to exaust the Tervigon? Or is the original roll where the exhaustion rule comes into play? For example, let's say I roll two 5, 1, 1 for my 3d6 roll. Does the exhasution rule come into play on this roll or after the reroll of the 1 results?

Thanks

SG

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/24 13:12:42


40K - T'au Empire
Kill Team - T'au Empire, Death Guard
Warhammer Underworlds - Garrek’s Reavers

*** I only play for fun. I do not play competitively. *** 
   
Made in nl
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch



Netherlands

1. The two units of termagants in the incubator node are not the ones that the Tervigon spawns. You field those normally. Then when the Tervigon spawns 15 termas, you place 15 new, completely different models on the table. Thus you end up with 2 units of 12 which you paid for and a unit of 15 which the Tervigon spawned.

Units in the same army do not have to stay within a certain distance of each other, you might as well cram everything together, though it would be better tactically if you didn't.

2. The exhaustion rule applies to the final role. Incubator node means that you spawn bigger units but your mama gets sterile easier. If you roll 1,1,4 you have to reroll the two 1 rolls. If either of them is a 4 or they roll doubles again, your mama stops birthing.

14000
15000
4000 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Side note on the Incubator Node, it is one Tervi and a 3 unit of gaunts.
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife






barnowl wrote:
Side note on the Incubator Node, it is one Tervi and a 3 unit of gaunts.
Thanks for the heads up and correction!

SG

40K - T'au Empire
Kill Team - T'au Empire, Death Guard
Warhammer Underworlds - Garrek’s Reavers

*** I only play for fun. I do not play competitively. *** 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: