Switch Theme:

Independent characters and Objective secured  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nl
Longtime Dakkanaut






Suppose you have a CAD troop choice and a IC who joined it.
Does the IC have Objective secured or do only the troopers get it ?

Not that it would be an issue often aside from some space wolves Iron priest blobs but the other discussions made me wonder.

Inactive, user. New profile might pop up in a while 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Units claim objectives. If the unit is within 3" it claims the objective. Whether you measure to the IC to do this or not is irrelevant

Another example where an IC benefits from a rule despite never having the rule conferred on them.
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





TBH you can only claim one detachment per model. Saying you claim the detachment benefits of another detachment is breaking the rules. (Creating an army in the BRB) This of course is assuming you joined a detachment with an IC from another detachment etc.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/24 17:56:43


 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Whacked wrote:
TBH you can only claim one detachment per model. Saying you claim the detachment benefits of another detachment is breaking the rules. (Creating an army in the BRB) This of course is assuming you joined a detachment with an IC from another detachment etc.

That actually is never stated regarding detachment rules.

And this is no different than an IC joining a Skyhammer Assault Squad and Charging. And we already have a thread on that.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/24 18:02:04


Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Units claim objectives the unit has Objective Secured the IC does not and never gain ObSec. However the unit needs to be within 3" of the objective for ObSec to trigger and if the IC is within 3" then the unit is. As mentioned above this is just like ICs joining a Skyhammer and works exactly the same way.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Whacked wrote:
TBH you can only claim one detachment per model. Saying you claim the detachment benefits of another detachment is breaking the rules. (Creating an army in the BRB) This of course is assuming you joined a detachment with an IC from another detachment etc.

No, this has nothing to do with detachments. Retread the rules cited, which is that units claim objectives, then look up how you measure to a unit. If you still disagree, some relevant rules would be useful to your argument.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






As ICs become members of the unit they join for all rules purposes; the IC, temporarily and effectively, changes many things about themselves while joined, these include but are not limited to:
Faction(as far as unit faction goes)
Battlefield role (most ICs are HQs but when joined to a troops unit they are part of a troops unit and not an HQ unit)
Detatchment (they were still purchased from the 1 detatchment but are now part of a unit from another detatchment; any "units from this detatchment" rules from their detatchment are lost while they gain the ones from the unit they join).

You will notice that every case above is specifically in regard to units on the battlefield/in reserve; this is exactly how you determine what changes with the IC

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




The ics rules and title are never taken into account for objective secured.

Ob secured is a unit rule that specifically calls out the entire unit.

The rules for claimin objective specifically calls out that units claim objectives not models.

And the ic has no rules that specifically prohibit them from claiming objectives.

Unlike be skyhammer formation which doesn't call out units and have specific deep strike rules that restrict charging the turn you arrive. This actual works.

   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





Charistoph wrote:
 Whacked wrote:
TBH you can only claim one detachment per model. Saying you claim the detachment benefits of another detachment is breaking the rules. (Creating an army in the BRB) This of course is assuming you joined a detachment with an IC from another detachment etc.

That actually is never stated regarding detachment rules.

And this is no different than an IC joining a Skyhammer Assault Squad and Charging. And we already have a thread on that.


"All of the units in your army must belong to a Detachment and no unit can belong to more than one Detachment."

It is there, I am ascertaining by not being able to be a part of more than one detachment you cannot claim the benefit of rules from a second detachment if your first is not the same. Think that's a pretty fair point.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 Whacked wrote:
Charistoph wrote:
 Whacked wrote:
TBH you can only claim one detachment per model. Saying you claim the detachment benefits of another detachment is breaking the rules. (Creating an army in the BRB) This of course is assuming you joined a detachment with an IC from another detachment etc.

That actually is never stated regarding detachment rules.

And this is no different than an IC joining a Skyhammer Assault Squad and Charging. And we already have a thread on that.


"All of the units in your army must belong to a Detachment and no unit can belong to more than one Detachment."

It is there, I am ascertaining by not being able to be a part of more than one detachment you cannot claim the benefit of rules from a second detachment if your first is not the same. Think that's a pretty fair point.


Rules don't say you can not benefit from another detachment's rules though. Yes you can not belong to more than 1 detachment no one is saying you can, however ObSec effects the unit and whilst attached the IC is a normal member of the unit for all rules purposes.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Whacked wrote:
Charistoph wrote:
 Whacked wrote:
TBH you can only claim one detachment per model. Saying you claim the detachment benefits of another detachment is breaking the rules. (Creating an army in the BRB) This of course is assuming you joined a detachment with an IC from another detachment etc.

That actually is never stated regarding detachment rules.

And this is no different than an IC joining a Skyhammer Assault Squad and Charging. And we already have a thread on that.


"All of the units in your army must belong to a Detachment and no unit can belong to more than one Detachment."

It is there, I am ascertaining by not being able to be a part of more than one detachment you cannot claim the benefit of rules from a second detachment if your first is not the same. Think that's a pretty fair point.

So you are taking an unwritten assumption to jump from point A to Point G.

It is only written that the IC is not part of the Detachment, nothing is stated about not receiving benefits. If the rule is not regarding units, you are correct. A Warlord from another Detachment would not benefit from a CAD's Benefit of rerolling their Trait, even if he could join the unit before rolling.

But Objective Secured, like most unit-targetting rules, doesn't specify the models be from the Detachment, just the units. And a Joined IC is part of the unit for this as much as for Stubborn, Blind, and Fleet.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/27 20:51:59


Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






No unit is belonging to more than 1 detachment.

The IC unit does not exist while the IC is attatched to another unit.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: