Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/28 22:17:15
Subject: Saint Tylus Formation Ruling
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Question #1
In the formation, Tyranic War veterans cannot take drop pods as dedicated transports. Would this prevent them from taking a allied in FA drop pod?
Question #2
In your opinion or personal experience, how do you think events would interpret this formation when it comes to point cost/rules on the Stormtalon? With the new codex, they had a slight reduction in cost for certain upgrades and also have had rules improved. Most importantly in this situation receiving a + 1 for jinking in hover (how this formation would have your infiltrating talons start).
What I am trying ultimately do, would be to have the allied drop pods allow the war vets turn 1 ignore cover 2+ poison the targets the talons shoot
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/28 22:29:58
Subject: Saint Tylus Formation Ruling
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
1) I would have no problem with this
2) I would feel you use the updated rules
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/28 22:49:58
Subject: Saint Tylus Formation Ruling
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Nothing in the rules would prevent them from embarking on a Drop Pod from another detachment.
My opinion on your second question would be that you would have to ask the organiser(s) of any event you wish to use the formation in.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/29 19:22:00
Subject: Saint Tylus Formation Ruling
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Thanks for the replies. My local group felt about the same way. Just thought I'd ask the net.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/29 20:32:51
Subject: Saint Tylus Formation Ruling
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Mr. Shine wrote:Nothing in the rules would prevent them from embarking on a Drop Pod from another detachment.
Only one thing would, really, if that Drop Pod was a from a Faction/Chapter Trait that is not Battle Brothers with Forces of the Imperium.
The Forgeworld Carchadons (sp?) apply in this situation, I believe.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/29 22:17:51
Subject: Saint Tylus Formation Ruling
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
That makes sense. I was most likely just playing that with Vanilla Marines
In the end this might be more points than it is worth but a fun formation either way. Infiltrating flyers turn 1 definitely throws the opponent off.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/30 01:19:51
Subject: Saint Tylus Formation Ruling
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Crusade wrote:That makes sense. I was most likely just playing that with Vanilla Marines
In the end this might be more points than it is worth but a fun formation either way. Infiltrating flyers turn 1 definitely throws the opponent off.
Carchadons use the base codex, they just have access to their own Chapter Tactics. They are just Separate Allies to the Forces of the Imperium, which includes the Smurfy Ultramarines.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/30 01:20:08
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/30 07:17:11
Subject: Saint Tylus Formation Ruling
|
 |
Battleship Captain
|
Agreed. The rules only define what you can buy as part of the formation. Nothing stops a unit in the formation embarking on anything they can legally ride in - battle brothers rhino, drop pod, stormtalon, fortification, whatever.
As to the stormtalon - the formation dataslate includes rules for the stormtalon - so unless a TO rules otherwise, you should use the rules 'organic' to the dataslate, just as the Inqusition uses it's rules for chimeras not the astra militarum version.
|
Termagants expended for the Hive Mind: ~2835
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/30 14:35:14
Subject: Saint Tylus Formation Ruling
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
locarno24 wrote:Agreed. The rules only define what you can buy as part of the formation. Nothing stops a unit in the formation embarking on anything they can legally ride in - battle brothers rhino, drop pod, stormtalon, fortification, whatever.
As to the stormtalon - the formation dataslate includes rules for the stormtalon - so unless a TO rules otherwise, you should use the rules 'organic' to the dataslate, just as the Inqusition uses it's rules for chimeras not the astra militarum version.
That is an excellent example with the inquisition. Definitely made the point and I consider this case closed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/30 15:30:11
Subject: Saint Tylus Formation Ruling
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
locarno24 wrote:Agreed. The rules only define what you can buy as part of the formation. Nothing stops a unit in the formation embarking on anything they can legally ride in - battle brothers rhino, drop pod, stormtalon, fortification, whatever.
As to the stormtalon - the formation dataslate includes rules for the stormtalon - so unless a TO rules otherwise, you should use the rules 'organic' to the dataslate, just as the Inqusition uses it's rules for chimeras not the astra militarum version.
Also, most Formations will be assigned a specific Faction/Codex. If the unit is in that Codex, use that version. In other words, the Assault Squads and Devastator Squads in a Skyhammer Formation will not be able to have Dark Angels Grim Resolve or Blood Angels Furious Charge, but could have the Iron Hands Chapter Trait for Feel No Pain.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
|