Switch Theme:

Phase Taser vs. Ranimation Protocol  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ro
Drooling Labmat




The ruling for the Interdimensional Electrocution says:
Any unsaved Wounds cause initiative test. Failures are removed from play.

I was talking to a friend, and he told me, that on my turn, i can deny him the reanimation protocol, by saying, that the remove from play happens before the protocol.
If it is the opponent's turn he gets to choose the order, in which effects are resolved, so he can take the protocol before the wound?
but the reanimation protocol says: "... this is not a saving throw ... "

since the electrocution works on unsaved wounds, the model still has to pass the initiative test to remain in play, right?
   
Made in au
Liche Priest Hierophant







As both Interdimensional Electrocution and RP are activated at the same time by the same stimulus (an unsaved wound), the person whose turn it is chooses which rule takes priority.

So in his turn the Necron player would choose for RP to go first. If he passes the roll the wound is treated as being saved and so IE can't activate.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Your friend is right per the above.

As to that last line; the same line is found in fnp, the reason for those lines is that the rules can be used along with failing an armor, cover, or invulnerable save. The rules themselves tell us that when their respective tests are passed to treat the unsaved wound as saved; so in your opponent's turn you hit him with the taser and he fails/has no save, he gets to choose the order of what happens first off the unsaved wound trigger, he makes the RP test and treats the wound as saved which cancels out the taser trigger just like the taser failed I test would cancel out the RP trigger if it went first(and during your turn you choose which gets resolved first so could, if you were feeling generous or wanted your unit locked in combat during his turn, have the RP resolve before the taser as well)

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




There is also an argument that all effects that trigger from an unsaved wound still trigger regardless. See the Dark Eldar FAQ ruling for the Shadow Field. Furthermore, the Sequencing rules discussed above talk about the order in which the rules are "resolved", not the order in which they are triggered. Nothing in the sequencing rules lets you go back and untrigger the event. The wound might get to be treated as being saved, but any additional effects still occur.

Both interpretations from the RAW can be argued ad nauseam, though the DE ruling might give some insight into the intent.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/09/30 23:27:16


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

It is a good question. I honestly think theres no reason to take the init test on a 1 wound model if it dies. Re-Reading the reanimation protocol rules its not a save but treat it if the wound had been saved. this is where it gets sticky. The init check is on an unsaved wound, so just discussing it with the guy your playing so you dont break the game but can have a fair outcome.

The fair thing to do would be to before rolling RP, make those that died roll the init test, those that pass can try and come back those that dont dont.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

I remember this argument with Helfrost and Reanimation. Both rules proc off the same circumstance - an unsaved wound - and each would deny the other permission to proc if carried out first. As Matt stated, since both rules proc at the exact same time then the player who's turn it is decides the order in which they are resolved (as per the "sequencing" rule on page 17). If the chosen rule succeeds, the other is denied. If the chosen rule fails, the other is allowed to proc.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: