Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/29 16:02:01
Subject: transports and holding objectives
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
If I have an objective secured unit inside a Fast Attack transport that is not objective secured, can I choose to hold the objective with the unit inside a transport? Does being inside a transport keep you from holding an objective? The objective holding rules are neither lengthy nor detailed. The closest I can come as to any sort of rules is in the transports section it says that if you need measure range involving the embarked unit measure from the hull.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/29 16:05:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/29 16:36:22
Subject: transports and holding objectives
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No, the unit inside is not within 3" of the objective. The Fast Attack transport can hold the objective, but it won't hold it with objective secured.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/29 16:37:50
Subject: transports and holding objectives
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
We can confirm if the Unit is within the 3 inch Range for Objective Secured, as specific permission exists to ensure we can measure to Embarked Units. Thus it would require a specific Restriction stating that Embarked Units can not Score, and while I am not at my books I can not recall such a Restriction.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/09/29 16:42:03
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/29 16:45:42
Subject: transports and holding objectives
|
 |
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle
|
JinxDragon wrote:We can confirm if the Unit is within the 3 inch Range for Objective Secured, as specific permission exists to ensure we can measure to Embarked Units.
Thus it would require a specific Restriction stating that Embarked Units can not Score, and while I am not at my books I can not recall such a Restriction.
I personally wouldnt mind it. If the FA transport with a OS unit is 3" away from that objective, its secured until the OS unit leaves
|
H.B.M.C.- The end hath come! From now on armies will only consist of Astorath, Land Speeder Storms and Soul Grinders!
War Kitten- Vanden, you just taunted the Dank Lord Ezra. Prepare for seven years of fighting reality...
koooaei- Emperor: I envy your nipplehorns. <Magnus goes red. Permanently>
Neronoxx- If our Dreadnought doesn't have sick scuplted abs, we riot.
Frazzled- I don't generally call anyone by a term other than "sir" "maam" "youn g lady" "young man" or " HEY bag!"
Ruin- It's official, we've ran out of things to talk about on Dakka. Close the site. We're done.
mrhappyface- "They're more what you'd call guidlines than actual rules" - Captain Roboute Barbosa
Steve steveson- To be clear, I'd sell you all out for a bottle of scotch and a mid priced hooker.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/29 16:56:58
Subject: transports and holding objectives
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
JinxDragon wrote:We can confirm if the Unit is within the 3 inch Range for Objective Secured, as specific permission exists to ensure we can measure to Embarked Units.
Thus it would require a specific Restriction stating that Embarked Units can not Score, and while I am not at my books I can not recall such a Restriction.
The rule that Jinx is referencing that allows the squad inside to hold the objective can be found under 'Embarking' in the Transports section of the rulebook.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/29 22:13:49
Subject: transports and holding objectives
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
JinxDragon wrote:Thus it would require a specific Restriction stating that Embarked Units can not Score, and while I am not at my books I can not recall such a Restriction.
There isn't one, other than for Zooming Flyers.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/09/29 22:20:49
Subject: transports and holding objectives
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Depending on the objective and the flyer, I think even hovering flyers will generally have issues simply in being within 3" due to the height of the flying stand... although that's not a written restriction, of course.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/09/29 22:21:26
|
|
 |
 |
|