Switch Theme:

IG orders and attached allies.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Guarded Grey Knight Terminator






I came across this scenario this weekend when list planning...

If I were to attach an independent character (say an ordo xenos inquisitor) to an IG squad (say a veteran squad), then I give an order to that vet squad, would the inquisitor also benefit from that order? Also, which models leadership would be tested? The ld8 sgt or the ld10 inquisitor?

So if I gave the order to ignore cover, how would that play out?

"Glory in our suffering, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not disappoint"
-Paul of Tarsus

If my post seems goofy, assume I am posting from my phone and the autocorrect elf in my phone is drunk again 
   
Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle






The Dog-house

It only affects the guard unit. It says that under the voice command rule I believe

H.B.M.C.- The end hath come! From now on armies will only consist of Astorath, Land Speeder Storms and Soul Grinders!
War Kitten- Vanden, you just taunted the Dank Lord Ezra. Prepare for seven years of fighting reality...
koooaei- Emperor: I envy your nipplehorns. <Magnus goes red. Permanently>
Neronoxx- If our Dreadnought doesn't have sick scuplted abs, we riot.
Frazzled- I don't generally call anyone by a term other than "sir" "maam" "youn g lady" "young man" or " HEY bag!"
Ruin- It's official, we've ran out of things to talk about on Dakka. Close the site. We're done.
mrhappyface- "They're more what you'd call guidlines than actual rules" - Captain Roboute Barbosa
Steve steveson- To be clear, I'd sell you all out for a bottle of scotch and a mid priced hooker.
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





The wording matters who does it say receives the benefit?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in ca
Furious Fire Dragon




A unit with an allied IC attached to the unit is considered to be part of the units army (so vet squad I'd an IG unit regardless of attached characters) and all models deployed in that unit are considered that way for rules purposes. So in theory yes, he would benefit.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Nope the models don't all count as IG faction. So if the benefit applies to the UNIT he gets it if it applies to all IG MODELS in the unit he doesn't.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Models don't have factions, units do.

An Ic that joins a unit from a battlebrother becomes a model in that faction unit(in this case the inquisitor is temporarily not an inquisition faction unit, he is a member of an astra militarum unit).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor





St. Louis, Missouri USA

Doesn't the order rules say only models from Codex AM receive the orders?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
To issue an order, declare the order your officer is attempting to issue and select a single

friendly non-vehicle unit from Codex: Astra Militarum that is within 12" of the officer

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/10/05 21:55:08


 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Some actual rules may help:

"To issue an order, declare the order your officer is attempting to issue and select a single friendly non-vehicle unit from Codex: Astra Militarum..."

"The ordered unit must then take a Leadership test to see if the order has been understood and acted upon. If the test is passed, the order takes effect as specificed in its description."

Up to this point, orders are obviously issued to units from Codex: Astra Miltarum. Given a joined Independent Character counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes, the unit is still a unit from Codex: Astra Militarum.

We the need to look at each individual order to see whether they affect the whole unit, or specific models within that unit. Generally they all affect the unit, or all models in that unit. Sometimes they affect all models in that unit using certain wargear.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: