Now that the full dataslates of the Tidewall fortifications have been leaked (rather than the Rampart sheet that came with the model), what do you think? Can the Tidewall be fielded by non-Tau factions?
Here they are, in case you missed it:
http://www.gamestrust.de/news,warhammer-40-000-tau-empire-bilder-weitere-tidewall-rampart-regeln,id46747.html
Personally, I'm inclined to say, -- Yes, but as the rules state, any of the functions that state "Models with the Tau Empire Faction" don't apply.
So, if you have a Tidewall Shieldline, Tau models (whether they're yours or not) get to reroll to hits of 1 for shooting attacks; but the fortification owner can make the Shieldline move, and also benefits from the reflective energy barrier.
What say you?