Switch Theme:

Can a Slow and Purposeful Unit Fire Overwatch in a Transport?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nasty Nob






Scenario:
A unit of Boyz is embarked in a Battlewagon with a Warboss in Mega Armor. The BW is assaulted. Normally, a unit in a transport can fire Overwatch if their transport is assaulted. However, in this case the unit is Slow and Purposeful, because it contains one model with the SnP rule (the MAWB). SnP denies the ability to fire Overwatch. So can the unit fire Overwatch, or not?


My P&M blog: Cleatus, the Scratch-building Mekboy
Successful Swap Trades: 6 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

As long as the Restriction itself is 'in play,' then the action being restricted is not legal.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/10/29 13:30:49


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob






JinxDragon wrote:
As long as the Restriction itself is 'in play,' then the action being restricted is not legal.


That's pretty much what I figured -- that the unit cannot fire Overwatch because it is SnP. I thought I would ask in case there was some rule I was missing that was conveyed on the unit (like how a unit embarked on a transport is Fearless, for instance). If anyone has any other thoughts on the subject, feel free to post. Thanks!


My P&M blog: Cleatus, the Scratch-building Mekboy
Successful Swap Trades: 6 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






New Orleans, LA

 Cleatus wrote:
JinxDragon wrote:
As long as the Restriction itself is 'in play,' then the action being restricted is not legal.


That's pretty much what I figured -- that the unit cannot fire Overwatch because it is SnP. I thought I would ask in case there was some rule I was missing that was conveyed on the unit (like how a unit embarked on a transport is Fearless, for instance). If anyone has any other thoughts on the subject, feel free to post. Thanks!


I agree with the two of you. SnP prevents the overwatch.

DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: