Switch Theme:

How Does Outflank work?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Hierarch





Hello all, the name's Swampmist, and I'm a fledgling marine player, and more specifically an iron hands\raven guard player. I'm super excited for all of the stuff that RG got in the new book, however I've hit an impasse at my local store because of a debate on how Outflank works. I say that it allows you to deploy from any part of the chosen table edge, that table edge essentially being used as your deployment zone, while the guys I play with say that I can only outflank in my own deployment zone. So which is it? I'd like to know, if only so I can decide whether to start buying up the models for a Pinion Demi-Company or a normal Demi-company. Also, I want to shore up my argument for my side, or inversely have someone prove me unequivocally wrong so I can go in this Monday and not have to fight for an hour just to use my formation. either way, a pre-emptive thanks to anyone who replies!

 Tamereth wrote:

We'll take your Magnus leak and raise you plastic sisters, take that internet.
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Melbourne, FL

It is clear in the BRB how the rule is to be used, your friend insisting that an Outflank must come from your table edge is wrong, if you came from your own edge, then it isn't Outflanking, it is a standard Reserves deployment. For proof, feel free to use a rule book, look up Outflank in the special rules in the back of the book and read him the second paragraph..........

7000+ Aliatoc Eldar
3000+ DeamonHunters
 
   
Made in us
Hierarch





 DJ Illuminati wrote:
It is clear in the BRB how the rule is to be used, your friend insisting that an Outflank must come from your table edge is wrong, if you came from your own edge, then it isn't Outflanking, it is a standard Reserves deployment. For proof, feel free to use a rule book, look up Outflank in the special rules in the back of the book and read him the second paragraph..........

My friends are using the point where it says that Outflanking follows the rules for Reserves means it must come on in my deployment zone, just it gets to come on from a different edge.

 Tamereth wrote:

We'll take your Magnus leak and raise you plastic sisters, take that internet.
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





its says "Table edge" not "table edge in your deployment zone"
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Melbourne, FL

Swampmist wrote:
 DJ Illuminati wrote:
It is clear in the BRB how the rule is to be used, your friend insisting that an Outflank must come from your table edge is wrong, if you came from your own edge, then it isn't Outflanking, it is a standard Reserves deployment. For proof, feel free to use a rule book, look up Outflank in the special rules in the back of the book and read him the second paragraph..........

My friends are using the point where it says that Outflanking follows the rules for Reserves means it must come on in my deployment zone, just it gets to come on from a different edge.


Yes it follows SOME of the rules for reserves such as declaring that they are in reserves at the beginning of the game, and rolling for them as of turn 2, however Outflank has its own rules as to how they enter the board....... if your friend wants to be a jerk about it, tell him his Deep-striking units need to walk onto the table in his deployment area as they also use the reserves rules........

If you have him read the entire Outflank rule and he still says you must deploy from your table edge, punch him in the taint and find someone else to play with who isnt trying to cheat to win!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/10/31 05:43:25


7000+ Aliatoc Eldar
3000+ DeamonHunters
 
   
Made in us
Hierarch





Actually, out of the 5 or 6 people who play 40k at this group regularly, Im the only one who has said that they can deploy anywhere on the table edge, which again is why Im even asking. I need help convimcing them that the rule, basically, isnt utter trash

 Tamereth wrote:

We'll take your Magnus leak and raise you plastic sisters, take that internet.
 
   
Made in us
Guarded Grey Knight Terminator





Try making a coloring book illustrating how outflank works, since apparently they can't read.

I am the Hammer. I am the right hand of my Emperor. I am the tip of His spear, I am the gauntlet about His fist. I am the woes of daemonkind. I am the Hammer. 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Melbourne, FL

Swampmist wrote:
Actually, out of the 5 or 6 people who play 40k at this group regularly, Im the only one who has said that they can deploy anywhere on the table edge, which again is why Im even asking. I need help convimcing them that the rule, basically, isnt utter trash


You may need to find a higher quality of players to game with....... I was trying to avoid quoting the rule, but it looks like you need serious help.

"When an Outflanking unit arrives from Reserves, but not Ongoing Reserve, the
controlling player rolls a D6: on a 1-2, the unit comes in from the table edge to the left of
their controlling player’s own table edge; on a 3-4, they come on from the right; on a 5-6,
the player can choose left or right. Models move onto the table as described for other
Reserves."

First give them this word puzzle, If i say that you need to paint the house to the left of your own house, do you paint the left side of your house, or the actual house to the left which likely belongs to your neighbor?

Table edge to the left or right of your own table edge, means the table edge, not including your own edge, but to the left or right of it. If you imagine a rectangle, such as the table, you have 4 edges. When you start, you pick an edge, and your opponent gets the opposite edge, which leaves 2 edges not claimed, one is to your left and one is to your right, hence, when the rule says that on a 1-2 the unit comes in on the table edge to your left of your own edge, it is specifing that you dont use your table edge, you use the one to the left of it. The only thing Outflank has in common with Reserves is that you roll for them on turn 2+, you may only move 6" onto the table, and you may not assault as it is a "coming from Reserves movement" .

I hope this helps, their is nothing I hate more than seeing a new player get abused and lose interest in a game because the other players are butt-monkeys.......Take pride in the fact that you read the rules better than they can!


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 DarkLink wrote:
Try making a coloring book illustrating how outflank works, since apparently they can't read.
That just made my night!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/10/31 06:48:01


7000+ Aliatoc Eldar
3000+ DeamonHunters
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Swampmist wrote:
 DJ Illuminati wrote:
It is clear in the BRB how the rule is to be used, your friend insisting that an Outflank must come from your table edge is wrong, if you came from your own edge, then it isn't Outflanking, it is a standard Reserves deployment. For proof, feel free to use a rule book, look up Outflank in the special rules in the back of the book and read him the second paragraph..........

My friends are using the point where it says that Outflanking follows the rules for Reserves means it must come on in my deployment zone, just it gets to come on from a different edge.


Then you should have your friends re-read the rules for Reserves, because they never mention your deployment zone they mention your table edge which outflank changes for it's purposes. Your group could be getting confused by the last paragraph on pg 135 "When Reserves arrive, pick one of your arriving units and deploy it," which they could interpret to mean in your deployment zone, but then goes on to say "moving it onto the table as described below." and goes on to moving on from your table edge.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob






As those above have said, Outflanking units come on left or right table edge, not your own table edge/deployment zone. The rules are pretty clear on this point. That's the whole point of Outflank.


My P&M blog: Cleatus, the Scratch-building Mekboy
Successful Swap Trades: 6 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

There even exists Wargear allowing Units to Outflank from the opponents Table Edge.
How would your group rational that the Unit must be in your deployment zone and also coming from your opponents Table Edge?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/03 22:23:12


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in za
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





South Africa

JinxDragon to the rescue

Facts are chains that bind perception and fetter truth. For a man can remake the world if he has a dream and no facts to cloud his mind. 
   
Made in au
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot





It works only from the flanks (Hence "Outflank"). You roll a D6. On a 1-2, you deploy to your left. On a 3-4, it's to you right & on a 5-6, you can choose which side.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/05 12:35:37


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: