Switch Theme:

Question about Cast of Players in codex harlequins.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Fresh-Faced New User




Hello all. I used the search engine but I couldnt find anything so I have a queston!

Cast of players in codex harlequins says that you can have a troupe, a death jester and a shadowseer as a formation. Restrictions say "all units in this formation must be deployed as a single unit. SThe death jester and shadowseer cannot leave the unit."

I was wondering what happens when you purchase a transport for the troupe.

What I assume happens is that since the rstriction says all models deploy as a single unit you cannot actually deploy embarked since then one unit would be off table thus breaking unit coherecy. Other than that I'd assume that you could just detatch the transport since the "no leave" doesnt apply to it, and that you could use i as normal after that. What do you think, am I completly off the tracks here?
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Embarked Units are on the table (even if the models are not).

Only ICs are permitted to leave units on their own.

I suppose GW could be assuming the position that "part of" and "in this" are not the same thing?

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Tough Tyrant Guard






Seattle

I believe where you run into an issue with putting the cast of players in their vehicle, is that you exceed transport capacity. You could purchase the starweaver and have it zipping about doing its own thing, but you have to wait until at least one guy gets shot before they can hop in.

~seapheonix
 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

 seapheonix wrote:
I believe where you run into an issue with putting the cast of players in their vehicle, is that you exceed transport capacity. You could purchase the starweaver and have it zipping about doing its own thing, but you have to wait until at least one guy gets shot before they can hop in.


Indeed. The better option would be to give them a Raider, which many fine merchants in the Corsair and Commoragh factions would be happy to provide you for a low, low price that you can pay off in several easy installments.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/01 05:45:00


Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in se
Fresh-Faced New User




Ah yes ofcourse. I am stupid, they dont fit in the transport XD

Would the assumption that they have to deploy in unit coherecy still be correct tho?
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Khurgar wrote:
Would the assumption that they have to deploy in unit coherecy still be correct tho?
Well, there are two ways it could work out:
(1) The "all models are a single unit" only applies to the Jester, Seer and Troupe, leaving the Dedicated transport (despite being part of the Formation) free to deploy on it's own exactly as normal for a DT (i.e. no restrictions except what can start in it. It's a separate unit in all respects).
(2) The transport must also be in the same unit. Meaning we have a unit containing both vehicle models and non-vehicle models, in which case the game breaks as soon as we shoot the unit and have to work out whether to roll to-wound or to penetrate...

The rules could go either way, but when in doubt I usually go with the way that doesn't break the game.
   
Made in se
Fresh-Faced New User




Option 1 seems like the RAI way to go!
   
Made in ca
Swift Swooping Hawk





Purchasing a dedicated transport can be used as a mobile gun platform for say the Death Jest from Hero's Path while your Troupe footslogs due to not fitting in the transport.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




The death jester in the cast of players formation is not allowed to leave the unit, so no, he cannot be alone in the transport. There is no wording in the formation that the transport has to stay in coherency, nor does it say that it may not be purchased for the troupe either.

The transport can do anything a dedicated transport chosen for a unit that is too big to ride in it can do. Just like taking a razorback for a unit of 10 grey hunters. It will be there to cart around other people and provide fire support until the unit is small enough to embark, then they may choose to do so.

   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Lythrandire Biehrellian wrote:
The death jester in the cast of players formation is not allowed to leave the unit, so no, he cannot be alone in the transport. There is no wording in the formation that the transport has to stay in coherency, nor does it say that it may not be purchased for the troupe either.
If this was in response to Erik_Morkai, note he said to use it as a transport (after waiting a turn) for a model from The Hero's Path formation, he's not suggesting you can split off the DJ from a Cast of Players.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Oh, derp. My bad

   
Made in ca
Swift Swooping Hawk





 Quanar wrote:
Lythrandire Biehrellian wrote:
The death jester in the cast of players formation is not allowed to leave the unit, so no, he cannot be alone in the transport. There is no wording in the formation that the transport has to stay in coherency, nor does it say that it may not be purchased for the troupe either.
If this was in response to Erik_Morkai, note he said to use it as a transport (after waiting a turn) for a model from The Hero's Path formation, he's not suggesting you can split off the DJ from a Cast of Players.


Exactly. I know you can't split it from Cast of Players. You have no idea how often I pondered Cegorach trolling players with restrictions like that. "My followers shall be grouped by 6 but the clown car only carries 5!"

Actually the Harlies should have a "Clown Car" transport. You know something the size of a Venom but carries 15. That would be awesome.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Erik_Morkai wrote:
You have no idea how often I pondered Cegorach trolling players with restrictions like that. "My followers shall be grouped by 6 but the clown car only carries 5!"

Starweavers transport six models, not five.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/03 16:48:34


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






 Ghaz wrote:
 Erik_Morkai wrote:
You have no idea how often I pondered Cegorach trolling players with restrictions like that. "My followers shall be grouped by 6 but the clown car only carries 5!"

Starweavers transport six models, not five.
And the Cast of Players is minimum of 7. Right query, wrong math!

The overly-restrictive-ness of the Harlequins codex does make me sad sometimes though. Would an "allied detachment" equivalent have killed the rules writer?
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: