Switch Theme:

Played first game and had question.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block






So received my starter set. Me and my wife played (she took Luke,R2 and torpedo's) I took night beast and "Mauler" Mithel with determination on him. she had me by 6 or 7 points I believe but it was just to learn the game and have fun and it was.

And I am sorry for the basic question's we watched the videos but it never mention target locks.

My questions are:

1) how do target locks work? Do they work with normal attacks or torpedo's and missiles only? so Luke target lock's night beast dose that target lock only work for one target? Dose it stay with him the entire game? and can she change target lock and how?

2) R2D2 shield regen so Mauler knocks down a shield on her next turn she dose a green maneuver dose she get to regen the shield right then or dose this count as a action during the action phase?

3) Torpedoes How do they work in the attacking phase? It seems a waste to use them when your normal attack at range one did them same amount of damage. I was thinking that this is a range 3 option to get a extra dice? But am unsure.

4)Critical Damage vs normal damage. We had a situation where she hit me with a normal damage and 2 critical damage I rolled three evades and had a evade token dose this cancel out all the damage? I did not know about critical damage.

Again sorry we read the rules and watched the videos but there was alote left out or missed with our Star Wars nerd bliss over pushing ships around the board. Thank you

sorry had to add one more we had a situation where both my tie fight were in range but one tie fight obstructed the others view. can the tie fighter still fire threw his own ally to hit the enemy? Or can he not shoot or do you treat it like a meteor where they get a extra defense dice?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/02 13:43:43


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





Virginia

 redcell wrote:
So received my starter set. Me and my wife played (she took Luke,R2 and torpedo's) I took night beast and "Mauler" Mithel with determination on him. she had me by 6 or 7 points I believe but it was just to learn the game and have fun and it was.

And I am sorry for the basic question's we watched the videos but it never mention target locks.

My questions are:

1) how do target locks work? Do they work with normal attacks or torpedo's and missiles only? so Luke target lock's night beast dose that target lock only work for one target? Dose it stay with him the entire game? and can she change target lock and how?

2) R2D2 shield regen so Mauler knocks down a shield on her next turn she dose a green maneuver dose she get to regen the shield right then or dose this count as a action during the action phase?

3) Torpedoes How do they work in the attacking phase? It seems a waste to use them when your normal attack at range one did them same amount of damage. I was thinking that this is a range 3 option to get a extra dice? But am unsure.

4)Critical Damage vs normal damage. We had a situation where she hit me with a normal damage and 2 critical damage I rolled three evades and had a evade token dose this cancel out all the damage? I did not know about critical damage.

Again sorry we read the rules and watched the videos but there was alote left out or missed with our Star Wars nerd bliss over pushing ships around the board. Thank you

sorry had to add one more we had a situation where both my tie fight were in range but one tie fight obstructed the others view. can the tie fighter still fire threw his own ally to hit the enemy? Or can he not shoot or do you treat it like a meteor where they get a extra defense dice?


1. Target Locks give your ship a blue token, and the enemy ship a red token. It stays on that one ship until used, and each ship can maintain only 1 Target Lock. Target Locks are "spent" to use secondary weapons such as torpedoes, and can be spent during a standard attack to reroll any number of dice that you choose.

2. It just happens after she performs a green maneuver, it isn't an action unless it has the "Action:" header.

3. They take place instead of your normal attack. They are secondary weapons so range bonuses never happen. I.e. they don't get an additional defense die at range 3.

4. Critical damage is evaded just like normal damage, but it is resolved afterwards. For example, she rolls 1 hit and 1 crit. You roll 1 evade. You evade the normal damage first, and are then hit by the crit.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
And yes, ships can fire through other ships and they do not count as being obstructed. Only when firing through actual obstacles are you considered to be obstructed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/02 13:59:56


40k:
8th Edtion: 9405 pts - Varantekh Dynasty  
   
Made in gb
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body





Devon, UK

 redcell wrote:
So received my starter set. Me and my wife played (she took Luke,R2 and torpedo's) I took night beast and "Mauler" Mithel with determination on him. she had me by 6 or 7 points I believe but it was just to learn the game and have fun and it was.

And I am sorry for the basic question's we watched the videos but it never mention target locks.

My questions are:

1) how do target locks work? Do they work with normal attacks or torpedo's and missiles only? so Luke target lock's night beast dose that target lock only work for one target? Dose it stay with him the entire game? and can she change target lock and how?


Once assigned, a TL remains on the ship for the duration of the game or until used or the locking ship takes another target lock action and locks a different ship, you can take a target lock action and retarget the same ship (should you have an ability that triggers on acquiring a lock for instance.)

They work with all attacks, and can be spent to reroll any or all dice from that attack, or some attacks, such as torpedoes, require you to spend the lock as a cost to make the attack (so consequently don't allow you to spend it again to reroll dice.)


2) R2D2 shield regen so Mauler knocks down a shield on her next turn she dose a green maneuver dose she get to regen the shield right then or dose this count as a action during the action phase?


Any effects which requires an action to be spent will be prefaced with "Action:" R2 doesn't have that, so it happens automatically. Effects and abilities that trigger automatically are useful, as there are lots of ways you can lose your action in a turn (or sometimes a lot of choices competing for a limited number of actions.)


3) Torpedoes How do they work in the attacking phase? It seems a waste to use them when your normal attack at range one did them same amount of damage. I was thinking that this is a range 3 option to get a extra dice? But am unsure.


Secondary weapons do not get bonus dice for range, but they don't allow bonus defence dice for range either. They are used as an alternative to the primary attack, and normally feature some sort of additional effect (cluster missiles fire twice, assault missiles can damage nearby ships etc, etc.) The reason you're sounding unimpressed is probably because many secondary weapons are currently a little sub-par in the game as a whole, and torpedoes as a group are probably the least well catered for. Look out for range restrictions, many missiles and torps don't work across the whole 1-3 range band.


4)Critical Damage vs normal damage. We had a situation where she hit me with a normal damage and 2 critical damage I rolled three evades and had a evade token dose this cancel out all the damage? I did not know about critical damage.


Yes, there is no distinction between crits and regular hits until they are successfully applied. An evade will cancel a crit just the same as a hit, in the scenario you mentioned you would have retained your Evade token as you rolled a sufficient number of evades naturally. It is important to note that crits are cancelled after regular hits, so if in your example you had rolled only 1 evade, that would have cancelled the normal hit, you would then have had the choice of spending your token to cancel one of the two remaining crits, and then the final crit would have been resolved, removing a shield if any were remaining, or dealing the damage card face up if it was hull damage.


Again sorry we read the rules and watched the videos but there was alote left out or missed with our Star Wars nerd bliss over pushing ships around the board. Thank you

sorry had to add one more we had a situation where both my tie fight were in range but one tie fight obstructed the others view. can the tie fighter still fire threw his own ally to hit the enemy? Or can he not shoot or do you treat it like a meteor where they get a extra defense dice?


Ships do not obstruct attacks, only obstacles, so you're free to target through both enemy or friendly models.

We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark

The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.

The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox

Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club 
   
Made in us
Colonel





This Is Where the Fish Lives

 redcell wrote:
1) how do target locks work? Do they work with normal attacks or torpedo's and missiles only? so Luke target lock's night beast dose that target lock only work for one target? Dose it stay with him the entire game? and can she change target lock and how?
What the Rules Reference says about Target Locks:
While attacking, a ship can spend a target lock that it has on the defender to reroll any number of its attack dice.
A target lock consists of a red target lock token anda blue target lock token displaying the same letter. When a target lock is acquired, assign the blue target lock token to the ship performing the action (the locking ship), and assign the red target locktoken on the target (the locked ship).
Target locks are not removed during the End phase.
A ship can maintain one target lock. If a ship acquires a new target lock, it must remove its old target lock.
If you have a target lock on your target, you spend it to reroll any number of dice. Keep in mind that you cannot reroll them again this attack as dice may only be rerolled once. Some secondary weapons require to to spend your target lock to attack with them (such as Proton Torpedoes). When you do this, you cannot use your target lock to reroll any dice during that attack.

2) R2D2 shield regen so Mauler knocks down a shield on her next turn she dose a green maneuver dose she get to regen the shield right then or dose this count as a action during the action phase?
R2-D2 does not count as an action. The only Upgrade Cards that count as actions will have the "ACTION:" header.

3) Torpedoes How do they work in the attacking phase? It seems a waste to use them when your normal attack at range one did them same amount of damage. I was thinking that this is a range 3 option to get a extra dice? But am unsure.
Torpedoes work just like normal attacks, but you have to meet the card requirement to use them. Let's look at Proton Torpedoes:

To perform an attack with this card, you need to have a Target Lock to spend and be at range 2 or 3. The benefit of secondary weapons is that the defender does not get a range bonus to their defense roll, meaning a TIE fighter won't get to roll 4 green dice when defending against a range 3 attack from a secondary weapon (torpedo, missile, or cannon).

4)Critical Damage vs normal damage. We had a situation where she hit me with a normal damage and 2 critical damage I rolled three evades and had a evade token dose this cancel out all the damage? I did not know about critical damage.
If you rolled enough evade results equal to or greater than hit/critical results, the attack misses completely and no damage is done. In your example, you do no need to spend your evade token because you had enough evades from you defense roll. Critical damage deals a face up damage card to your ship. During an attack, your defense dice cancel normal hits before critical hits, but critical hits have no effect on shields.

sorry had to add one more we had a situation where both my tie fight were in range but one tie fight obstructed the others view. can the tie fighter still fire threw his own ally to hit the enemy? Or can he not shoot or do you treat it like a meteor where they get a extra defense dice?
Ships, friendly or enemy, do not obstruct shots.

The old core set, which is what you have, doesn't come with the new "Rules Reference" booklet like the new core set does. However, you can find it here. It really helps clarify things better than the original core rules.

 d-usa wrote:
"When the Internet sends its people, they're not sending their best. They're not sending you. They're not sending you. They're sending posters that have lots of problems, and they're bringing those problems with us. They're bringing strawmen. They're bringing spam. They're trolls. And some, I assume, are good people."
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block






Thank you everyone. Very helpful.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka





Bathing in elitist French expats fumes

Just remember, the simplest interpretation of the rule is very often the right one. Keep a tab on the FAQ and you'll be fine.

 GamesWorkshop wrote:
And I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling kids!

 
   
Made in gb
Yu Jing Martial Arts Ninja






 redcell wrote:
Thank you everyone. Very helpful.


+1 from someone else currently learning. 'Nerd bliss' - indeed
   
 
Forum Index » Atomic Mass Games (Star Wars & Marvel: Crisis Protocol)
Go to: