samus41k wrote:Hello everyone. In last games I've played with my skitarii there have been some rules I have had some doubts. I would like to expose them to you, my peers, and have your opinion. Thanks in advance!
I'll do my best...
i. Rangers with arquebusses. They have the sniper rule: they have precision shot in 6 to hit, and they wound in 4+. Question is: if I roll a 6 in the to wound roll, is the shot AP2?
Yes. That is what the Sniper special rule does. If they have the Sniper special rule then they gain that benefit to their To Wound rolls.
ii. Rangers with arquebusses (2). Again, the description of the weapon reads that they are strength 4 for the penetration of vehicles purposes. Would you consider it to be strength 4 for wounding units with toughness 3 (it would wound in 3+), or do the sniper rule overrules its strength and it still wounds in 4+ units with low toughness?
The Sniper rule clearly says that they count as Strength 4 against vehicles, and that its shooting attacks always wound on a To Wound roll of 4+. Therefore if you are rolling To Wound you always require a 4+
iii. Vanguards: They reduce the toughness of the unit they are fighting in melée by one. But is it one flat -1 reduction regardeless of how many units of vanguard are in contact, or is it -1 for every single unit? Question is, if two units of vanguards charge and fight a melée an enemy unit, do the toughness suffer -1 or -2? I think that the malus is -1 even if there are 4 units of vanguards surrounding a MC.
The Rad-saturation rule says when locked in combat with one or more models with the special rule. If you have three units' worth of models, you still have "one or more models" so it is a single -1 modifier.
iv. Squads with multiple weapons: It is said that every unit in a squad fire their weapons at the same time; this forbids, as exemple, to pop a transport with the heavy weapons in a squad and mow the infantry inside with the lighter ones in the same shooting round. I like to have my vanguard alphas holding a phosphor pistol which causes the luminagen effect in the unit they wound (-1 to cover saves for the enemy unit). Question is: If I shot the pistol first, and it wounds the enemy unit, do the rest of my vanguards in my unit shoot at the enemy with a -1 malus to their cover save?
Luminagen's effect kicks in when and after a unit suffers one or more unsaved Wounds from a weapon with the special rule, so it is best to resolve your Phosphor weapons first for that reason - the rest of the unit's weapons will benefit from the cover save reduction.
v. Do the luminagen effect (-1 to wounded unit's cover saves) stack with the omnispex (another -1 to cover saves)? I would say yes.
No reason why not.
vi. Onagers. In their description their special rule reads that they pass automatically every dangerous terrain roll, and is never slowed by difficult terrain, they cannot however, run. Does that mean that they cannot make a sweeping advance if they win a melée combat?
Sweeping Advance is not a Run move, so they may Sweeping Advance as normal for a walker, unless there is another rule saying otherwise.
vii. Onagers with Neutrons laser: This weapon causes concussion, so any unit that suffers a wound (and is not instant-killed!) sees its member's initiative reduced to 1. Questions:
vii. a) Do the initiative malus affect all the minis in the wounded squad, or just the units that suffered a wound?
Check the Concussive special rule in the rulebook. It affects only models who have suffered an unsaved Wound.
vii. b) If the enemy unit loses combat do they use their normal initiative to escape the sweeping advance, or their initiative is still reduced to 1?
Check Sweeping Advance. It says they use their unmodified Initiative for this purpose.
vii. c) For the roll to avoid the blinding effect of the champ of conversion (If one of my units equipped with one saves a 4+ invulnerability save, all units within 6" must make an initiative test or be blinded if failed); the initiative used is their normal one or just initiative 1?
Whatever the model's initiative value is at the time, including modifiers. Blind does not use unmodified Initiative.
viii: Ruststalkers and infiltrators: As read in the codex book, their dunestrider rule makes them add 3" to any "maximum distance made in movement phase, sprint or charge", but shouldn't they also add those 3" when they flee from combat? As a personal rule, I do add those 3" when they are falling back, but I would like to know your opinon.
Dunestrider clearly applies to moving in the Movement phase, Run and charge moves. Fleeing combat is not any of those things, so it does not apply.
ix: Ruststalkers' weapons: They have the transsonique rule which reads: "a to wound roll of 6 wounds automatically one foe regardeless of the tougness. The first ROUND of combat, the to wound rolls of 6 are AP2. In all subsequent ROUNDS after the first, all attacks become AP 2 and still auto-wound on 6s To Wound. Questions:
ix. a) What is the ROUND (in capitals) in this description? If I charge a unit in my turn, my first round would be my subphase of combat. If I'm locked in combat, is the next round is my opponent's subphase of combat or is it my subphase of combat in the next turn?
Transonic does not care if it is "your" round or "your opponent's" round of close combat, so it's any round after the first.
ix. b) If I'm fighting one unit for one round, and in my opponent's turn another of his/her units charges into the melée, do the transsonique attacks AP2 shifts from the first unit (the one that was in combat) to the attacks on the second unit as well? I wouldn't think so, but technically as the rule is written it would.
That seems to be the case. The rules talk about rounds of a given close combat, and throwing a new unit into a close combat does not make it a new or different close combat.
x. Culexus: Not technically an skitarii unit, but I'm bringing one with me. They have an attack that is shot in the physic phase, and it shoots as many times as the warp charges that the culexus can siphon from an enemy psyker, and up to three charges from my dice pool. What does it happend if there are no psykers in the table?? Do I still get to throw a "psyker dice" to create a pool of psyquic dice to see how many discharges can my clexus shoot, one, two or three?
The Psychic phase is not optional, so strictly speaking even if you don't have any Psykers you must roll a
D6 for your Warp Charge Pool. So yes, you may (and in fact, must) roll.
I appreciate enormously your answers!
You're welcome!