Switch Theme:

Unwieldy Powerfists and Dreadnoughts.. Is this rules interpretation correct?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





Mississippi

G'devening all. I was working on a few lists tonight for my Blood Angels and noticed that, at least in my Blood Angels codex, that Dreadnoughts, (to include Furiosos and the like) come equipped with "Powerfists with built-in *Weapon*". Typically a Storm Bolter, with an upgrade option being a Heavy Flamer.

Now, in previous editions of the game, Dreadnoughts were equipped with "Dreadnought Close Combat Weapons (DCCW)" which swung at the dreadnought's initiative (typically, 4). Flipping over to the main 7th Edition 40k Rulebook, when you look at Powerfists, they all (with a few special exceptions such as the Eldar Striking Scorpion Exarch's Scorpion's Claw & Marneus Calgar's Gauntlets of Ultramar) have the Unwieldy rule. Nowhere in the Walkers description in the BRB does it state that the Unwieldy rule is ignored by any walker, nor does it mention anything like this in the actual unit listing, at least in the Blood Angels codex.

So, does this mean that Dreadnoughts with Powerfists strike at I:1 now? It seems that way, and also gives a good reason to run Blood Talons on a Furioso now as well, as it gives all the benefits of the Power Fist (x2 Strength, and AP:2) while allowing the Dreadnought to swing at Initiative with the bonus special rule of Shred.

Were people aware of this rules change? Or did I just miss it completely since I've been playing Guard for about 5 years and am only just now realizing it since I picked my Blood Angels back up recently.

Thanks for reading and take it easy for now everyone.

-Red__Thirst-

You don't know me son, so I'll explain this to you once: If I ever kill you, you'll be awake, you'll be facing me, and you'll be armed.  
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Go read Unwieldy. It says MCs and Walkers ignore it
   
Made in us
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





Mississippi

Huh, *goes to get his rulebook* one sec.. will edit once I re-read it again. I missed that caveat entirely. :(

Edit: So it is! I managed to overlook that particular part of the rule. I forgot to completely read Unwieldy truth be told. Thread complete, sorry for the confusion. :*

Take it easy for now folks.

-Red__Thirst-

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/28 05:50:07


You don't know me son, so I'll explain this to you once: If I ever kill you, you'll be awake, you'll be facing me, and you'll be armed.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: